Help on buying a new PC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone

I hope i have posted this in the right place.

Ok well from the title we know what this is about.

I am going to buy a new computer at Easter time and that is just the case an all of its components as i already have a monitor, printer etc. I have a budget of a grand, so i want to get something that will have some potential for the future as i am a poor student and cannot keep buying them.

My brother is an IT manager, his mate is a technical suport guy for a company and i have a mate who works at IBM, so i have had much advice from them that is all different. It is very confusing, so i was hoping for some more confusion here.

I use the PC for computer games and software such as Maya, so i am in a difficult situation where i need something that will work well as a workstation and can play top games. I have been told that AMD are better for games on the whole, but if you want something for both Intel is the better option. I do not know what to get out of a PCI-Express Ati or Nividia card over a workstation graphics card, as i don't know how they run games. My mate at IBM said that it is no point going for DDR2 as some good Kingston or Crosshair DDR ram are just as good and cheaper, but i wonder what would be better in the future. I was even told not to bother with 64 bit Processors as when the new windows does come out it still wont make much difference.

I know i am throwing a lot at you all, but it is just very confusing, so if you could give me some of your input to help me build a PC with potential to be upgraded in the future to last for a fair few years then that will be good. I know you can never keep up with the technology, but something that can still run the latest games and software for a while. That is where i need a good motherboard, but i don't know what to get. I was thinking about the Asus P5AD2 Premium.