Help Required in Device Driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

rajesh.v

Hello,

I have developed a device driver for RTL8139(B) LAN card on DOS system. I have few problems using the driver.
My driver initially seems to be communicating with the remote system without any problems.
But, later when I updated the code making few changes it seems to be not responding. The addition of the code merelely affects the functionality of the driver.

Later, it was observed that the previous working code doesn't seems to be responding when the any of the unwanted code was removed.

Could anyone please tell me what could be the problem in this case???

Regards,
Rajesh.V

i'm not good with programing, but have you considered a hardware fault? try an os with some drivers like Ubuntu live or knoppix etc and see if it still works there or not..

I have a situation where i have to develop a driver using RTL8139(B) ethernet adapter and have to use DOS OS. I don't have other options...

How to debug this Problem?

Hello,

I am developing a device driver as part of Data Link Layer/ Physical Layer, which is responsible to communicate with the LAN Card (RealTek RTL8139© card) using DOS OS.

How is this Driver tested?
I had a REMOTE PC (Windows 2000) in which I was running the TCP Server application, which could respond to any client connection. The driver, which I developed on DOS system hereafter called as TEST PC, was one of the client side, which request for the connection with the server.
Polling method is used for reception / transmission of data.

The following steps are performed for the data transfer between the TEST PC and the REMOTE PC.
1) Address has to be resolved between the TEST PC and REMOTE PC before any data transfer takes place.
To do this,
· ARP (Address Resolution Protocol) Request is sent from the TEST PC to the REMOTE PC. TEST PC activates Transmit interrupt flag when the data is successfully sent out to the line.