Help Save This Kid's Computer; Thanks!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello Everyone,

I am new to this newsgroup, as I am trying to help my next door neighbor's 13-year old son get a computer (that he built himself) up and running.

The father allowed the kid to purchase the components online, shortly before Christmas, using his credit card, but when boy failed to get the computer running, the father became angry and threatened to throw out the whole system. In fact, in an apparent tirade, he may have already thrown out some of the boxes with included software.

The kid is a parent's dream. He's quiet, well-mannered, does everything that's expected of him (homework, chores, etc.), without having to be told.
His main passion is playing games on the computer.
Thus, when the father explained his frustration over the issue, I offered to help, and explained that building one's own computer is only half the battle, and that setup can involve a number of issues which must be dealt with using patience and perseverance.

Regardless, the system involves the following components:

--ASUS Crosshair AM2 nForce 590 motherboard
--2 sticks of 512mb DDR2 RAM (Part #512MB532D2)
--Lite On CD/DVD combo
--Western Digital WD3200JB (Caviar SE--OEM version from newegg.com)

The first problem encountered was that pressing the Delete key during boot-up would not allow access to BIOS. There was just a screen showing the Crosshair logo with "Republic of Games."

By calling ASUS and explaining this problem of not being able to access BIOS, they agreed to send out a new BIOS chip, free-of-charge.

After receiving and installing the BIOS chip, I was then able to access the BIOS.

I set the Boot Priority to "Boot from CD ROM" as the first order of preference.

With a Windows XP Professional (with SP2) disk installed in the drive, the computer booted up, and began running the XP setup.

After only a few minutes, the computer displayed the following error message: