Help! System won't boot--not sure what to do next

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone, this is a great site! Hopefully someone can steer me in the right direction.

I just built what should be a great machine (my first, so I'm new at this)-- but the system gives me a "Disk boot failure, Insert system disk and press enter" message when turned on. I've gone into BIOS and slated my DVD RW to boot first, popped the OEM Vista disk in the DVD, exited BIOS, and it'll give me a "Boot from CD/DVD : _" prompt (which I cannot type anything into), the DVD will churn away for a few seconds, then I'll get the "Disk boot failure..." message again.

I've tried doing this with an XP SP2 restore disc with the exact same results. The DVD RW is a Sony I pulled out of a 3-year old Medion M3 Composer. Here are the rest of my specs:
GeForce 8800 GT Superclocked
Gigabyte S-series GA-P35C-DS3R Mobo
WD 160GB 7,200RPM SATA-300 Hard Drive
2GB PC-6400 DDR2 Memory Kit (Two 1GB DDR2-800 Memory Modules)
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
Antec 500w PS

I thought by doing the BIOS thing, and putting the DVD RW as Master, that it'd boot from the DVD right off the bat. My guess is that it's trying to read the DVD RW but the info isn't getting from the drive to the Mobo. Should I try creating some other sort of Boot disc, or try getting a newer DVD RW (it works just fine in the Medion)? I've checked and re-checked the IDE ribbon connections (power is definitely getting to the drive). The ribbon is brand new from the Mobo box.

Any help would be appreciated. I've been waiting for this 8800 GT and am salivating at the thought of checking it out, but I can't even load the OS. :(

At the 'boot from cd/dvd prompt you need only touch the enter (or any other key) for it to run.
It looks as if the common denominators are the install DVD or the DVD drive - have you another drive you could try? Is the install DVD clean and unmarked?
Lastly, do all the drives show up in the BIOS?