Help to my FIRST OVERCLOCK, Please !

Status
Not open for further replies.

franklogus

Hi all !!
I will get a Gigabyte 9600XT 128 MB (GV-R96X128D) for my PC next week... I would like some hints about how to do a safe and efficient Overclock on it (with stock cooler). I have bought it because I read some good results of it over the internet - It seems that this model is a nice overclocker, because of its good memory, as I read in a review "The memory chips used on the Gigabyte board are not run of the mill 300 Mhz chips but 350 Mhz ones. A quick run over to Samsung's site confirmed the code - K4D263238E-GC2A - 350MHz 700Mbps/pin."

Sorry if the questions looks like basic; I am a newbie on doing Overclock, and, as it will cost me expensive (I am from Brazil), I wouldn't like to damage it ...

Question 1: I have read that its OWN Overclock program (V-Tuner) isnt' very operative to use (don't works well, because it don't accept small adjusts). What's the program you suggest for me to use, as a alternative (Rage3D, Powerstrip, ...) ??

Question 2: What item (Core or Memory) should I to increase FIRST, for better OC??

Question 3: It seems that the change of one item has impact on the other... Is it true?? So, if I need to increase all them, should I to privilege the MEMORY increase or CORE increase??

Question 4: I have read that there is a program (ATI Tool) that makes easier to reach the potential limit of the video card. Is really recommended to use it?

Question 5: Is there some danger of damage the video card, if I turn off the computer when the screen begins to show some white artifacts??

Question 6: Why there are, sometimes, much discrepancy between final results of an Overclock (with stock cooler), if the base is the same? Sometimes we see some people reach numbers of OC very higher than others, with the same video card and the same supposed conditions ...

Here are 03 final results I got over the internet, for this specific video card: