Help with new startup?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kesler

Another emachine gone. I am installing a new mobo,psu and cpu in my micro atx emachine case. Keeping dvd drives and hard drive. Is there anything I should know before startup? Will the system start from hard drive like it did before mobo died? Please help ,this is my first build for daughter. Biostar gforce 6100 m9, athlon 64 3200+, thermaltake 430 watt psu, kingston duel channel 400mhz 3200 256x2. Thank you, Kirk

You should set as DVD boot first, Hard drive second.
No. When you install the fresh Mobo, it came as preset. You will have to change it

ALl your spec is very basic and is suitable for future mainstream usage.

Kirk - to explain a bit more on bushwhacker -
the new mobo will not automatically boot from your old Hard drive. The drivers and everything are completely different. You will need to assemble it and re-install windows.

If you didn't partition the hdd and have important data - use another drive to install on and then set the old hdd as a slave. Or put the old drive in a different pc to backup your important files. Try cable select first.

good luck!

sl33py

So i can put my hard drive in a working computer by itself and it will boot so I can back up? Is this the simpleest way? The only disk I have is the one that came with the emachine that has windows and other programs on it

Yes. Just don't forget to set it to slave on the jumper settings on the back of your HDD (if its an IDE) so you're booting off the Computer's Windows not your HDD's windows.. Then open up Explorer and go find your files you want to keep and transfer them to some cds/dvds or whatever..
You will need to assemble it and re-install windows.