TechSpot

Hey

By TophCPU
Jan 30, 2010
  1. hello everyone

2. TophCPU

TophCPU TS Rookie Topic Starter

I bought a computer(which is kind of old) from someone and it keeps crashing and has been for a while but has started to more frequently. at first the crashes would only happen when i was playing games like Counter Strike but now it will crash randomly while doing pretty basic tasks. i recently downloaded the drivers for my graphics card because the guy i bought it from didn't seem to have any downloaded. i'm not very good with computers so it would be great if anyone could tell me what these crashes can be caused by.

3. Archean

Archean TechSpot Paladin Posts: 5,682   +86

Are you getting any BSOD? if so can you please provide with the error code?

Can you give bit more details which your computer may be logging already for you. Go to Control Panel, Admin Tools, Event Viewer, and check system / applications and other logs and see whether they are recording/logging details of these crashes.

4. TophCPU

it's not telling giving me any error code when it crashes, the screen just goes off and the computer looks like its on but it goes silent.

i looked at the event viewer and it says a lot of warnings and a few errors but i am not able to tell which one is the computer crashing.

5. Archean

Just make a list of them with the given error code/event ID and post that list here.

6. TophCPU

These ones seemed to appear the most on the list

Error. source: service control manager. Event: 7000
    description: The Zune Bus Enumerator Driver service failed to start due to the following error:
    The system cannot find the file specified.

Warning. source: Dhcp. Event: 1007
    description: Your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address 0016EC312CED. The IP address being used is 169.254.169.22.

Error. source: server. Event: 2505