High pitch whining from Graphics card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rab2140

Hi ppl this is my first time using a forum because i can useuly solve the problems but im at my wits end with this one. Ok heres the deal i have ati radeon x850 xt crossfire on my pc and for some strange reason when i run a 3d app or game the cards produce a very irritating high pitch whining !!! and i do not understand why !! please if anyone has had this problem reply me with a solution ASAP im getting annoyed :p thanks

how would i go about doing those things i dont wanna mess up my graphics card by taking of the fan

You could try unplugging the red and black power wires to the fan, but don't run it too long unplugged. If the whine disappears, you will have to replace the GPU fan on the video card

You don't have to actually take off the fan. You can just unplug it from the power connection on the graphics card - but very briefly only. You don't want to fry it.

mailpup said:
You don't have to actually take off the fan. You can just unplug it from the power connection on the graphics card - but very briefly only. You don't want to fry it.

My thoughts exactly :cool:

thanks guys for the repllys but my problem persists i tooks out the fan cables and still i hear that noise i am positive it is coming from the graphica card so what could be the problem?

Rab2140 said:
thanks guys for the repllys but my problem persists i tooks out the fan cables and still i hear that noise i am positive it is coming from the graphica card so what could be the problem?
You have to ramp up the cards' fans' speed when using 3D mode to something like 100% using a program like ATITool or ATI Tray Tools.

You're probably running it at it's normal 5%... What I've noticed is that if it gets too hot (due to the low fan speed) it start's to first whine very annoyingly and then it starts to artifact. And then it'll probably fry, but I didn't wait that long.