TechSpot

Hola Peeps

By 8r1n
May 30, 2007
  1. Hi All,
    I am a Semi Retired Engineer living in Southern Spain (La Nucia) I tend to laze around the pool sipping Sangria (this retired lark can be a B*tch) Lol
    I found the site looking for a remedy to reinstate my XP Firewall that's gone AWOL? still not sorted but I feel sure the brains on this super site will help me sort it?
    Peace
    8r1n aka Bryn

2. LinkedKube

LinkedKube TechSpot Project Baby Posts: 3,481   +44

Thx for stopping by, welcome to TechSpot. A few members will be by soon to give you some helpful links. I hope you enjoy your stay here as I am.

3. howard_hopkinso

howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

4. halo71

halo71 TS Rookie Posts: 1,090

Hey Welcome to TechSpot!! :D

If I were you I wouldn't mess with the XP firewall, I think it kinda sucks. Have you tried ZoneAlarm?

5. 8r1n

8r1n TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 24

Don't mess with XP Firewall!

Hi halo71,
    You are so right! lol as my problem is the following:
    Due to an unidentified problem, windows cannot display the windows firewall settings
    I have tried all the usual fixes & tried all the recommended from the sharedaccess site, but to no avail? I cannot change anything in Windows firewall anywhere on the PC. I am running XP Pro Service Pack 2. I have run every virus,trojan,rootkit malaware proggies known to man & am 99.9999% sure no virus on my sys. Any ideas would be most welcome & gratefully received.
    peace
    8r1n

I will look in tomorrow, off to my pit as have early start am!

6. howard_hopkinso

howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

As this is the Introduce Yourself forum, may I suggest you open a new thread for your problem in our Windows OS forum.

Regards Howard :)

7. 8r1n

Sorry posted in wrong thread

Sorry Howard,
    First of all, A big thank you to the warm welcome to the Site.