How can I get ms-dos 6.22 to recognize laptop cd-rom connected by pcmcia card?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to this formum. I am trying to find a way to do reload win98se on on laptop hard drive that I reformatted to ms-dos 6.22 for a "clean install". The cd-rom connects to the laptop by means of a type 2 pcmcia card which can't be used with the win98 floppy boot disk because the startup disk only has the oakcdrom.sys + mscdex.exe drivers which are not compatible with pcmcia card. Therefore the win98se start up floppy can not find a cd-rom. The laptop is a Sony Vaio PCG-505FX and apparently there are dos drivers for the pcmcia card. Is it possible to copy this driver to the dos directory and modify the config.sys and autoexec.bat files so that the cdrom drive is recognized in dos without using the startup disk? It seems that the startup disk over-writes the config and autoexec files when just dos 6.22 is installed.

The other solution is remove the laptop hard drive and use an adapter to install it it in a desktop and load win98se by means of the desktops cd-rom. The hard drive is not externally removeable so I would like to avoid doing this if at all possible. Any suggestions, and thanks in advance,

Carl

additional info