How can i tell if it is my mobo or psu or alternative that isnt working

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok so i got my pc a month ago from a 2nd hand shop but they assured ne all the parts were one hundred percent tested and passed however they could not offer a warranty. I have :
AMD Duron 1.6ghz
Asus Motherboard (sorry not sure which one did not say on specs sheet!!!)
Nvidia GeForce Mx 2 64mb
512MB RAM
Audio Genius Soundcard

Im not an expert with computers as you can probaly tell but i know my fair share of them and have made a few in my time, successfully.
However i was given a 256MB graphics card, friend said he wasnt sure if it worked. I installed it in but my screen was all messed up so i decided not to bother and put my old one back in but now my pc wont boot. I can hear the power starting but no beeps and nothing on screen. It was said in my local repair shop i needed a new mobo because i fried mine by statuc but my close friend assured me my motherboard was working still. So how can i check if its working or not?
Thanks anyone in advance that contributes

Me again

cescfabregas158 said:
Ok so i got my pc a month ago from a 2nd hand shop but they assured ne all the parts were one hundred percent tested and passed however they could not offer a warranty. I have :
AMD Duron 1.6ghz
Nvidia GeForce Mx 2 64mb
512MB RAM
Audio Genius Soundcard

Im not an expert with computers as you can probaly tell but i know my fair share of them and have made a few in my time, successfully.
However i was given a 256MB graphics card, friend said he wasnt sure if it worked. I installed it in but my screen was all messed up so i decided not to bother and put my old one back in but now my pc wont boot. I can hear the power starting but no beeps and nothing on screen. It was said in my local repair shop i needed a new mobo because i fried mine by statuc but my close friend assured me my motherboard was working still. So how can i check if its working or not?