TechSpot

How do I create an dos bio flash floppy? ^

By Condor
Sep 13, 2003
  1. sup guys!

    Need help on creating an DOS-bootable floppy diskette, which commands do i type to create an bootable dos floppy?
    I got the AWDFLASH.EXE but couldnt able to get it work at window rebooting part.
    I wanna update my Bios plz halp.

    thz in advance~

    Flash Update Procedure
    A program AWDFLASH.EXE is included in the utility diskette or CD (X:\Utility\AWDFLASH.EXE). The user is recommended to follow the procedure below to update the flash BIOS. (X: your CD driver letter).

    1. Create a DOS-bootable floppy diskette. Copy the new BIOS file (just obtained or downloaded) and the utility program AWDFLASH.EXE to the diskette.
    2. Allow the PC system to boot from the DOS diskette.
    3. At the DOS prompt, key in AWDFLASH and hit <ENTER>
    4. Enter the file name of the new BIOS.
    5. The question: “Do you want to save BIOS (Y/N)” is displayed.
    Key in “N” if there is no need to save the existing BIOS content..
    Key in “Y” if a backup copy of the existing BIOS is needed.
    (A file name has to be assigned to the existing BIOS binary file.)
    6. The question : “Are you sure to program (Y/N)” is displayed.
    Key in “Y”
    7. Wait until the flash-update is completed.
    8. Power down the PC system.
    9. Restart the PC.
     
  2. iss

    iss TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,896

    you can download a basic boot disk desinged to be used for making a flash bios disk at the link below.

    http://www.drd.dyndns.org/index2.html

    the one you want is at the bottom of the page. "bios update boot disk"
     
  3. Condor

    Condor TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 461

    Hye thz iss, i remember you, you show some member of this program call aida32 ^_^

    I luve that program :)

    Back to the dos boot disk question ;p

    My os is window xp, i found out how to create an dos boot disk, just go to floopy drive a: then right click and make a check on dos format : ))

    But when I get into dos when computer boot up, i type awdflash and it ask me to file to program, so I type v1105ag.bin < that's the bios flash update i think but it told me file not found! :mad:
    I got that file save on boot disk too.

    My system is running stable for now, I guess bios flash are not necessary ;p
     
  4. iss

    iss TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,896

    you have to have the Bios flashrom update program and the bios image file on the boot floppy. that is why the floppy boot disk cretion program I posted to you is a minimilist program , just enough to be able to boot which leaves plenty of room on the boot disk for the files necessary to do the bios flash.

    if your system is running stable then you might be better off not trying to flash it.
     
  5. Condor

    Condor TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 461

    thx iss for y0 time ^_^

    I got other question, hope it help me in time when I really need to flash my bios in the futures, so I ask..

    Anyone can instruct me on how to do an bios flash procedures?

    greaty appreciate
    :)

    I got the V1105AG.BIN that's the bios update, I also got the awdflash utility.
     
  6. Greeno

    Greeno TS Rookie Posts: 394

    if it were me..

    I'd have 2 disks... 1 which is your bootable one, and the other with the flash and rom/bin on it.

    I normally rename my .rom/.bin files to something simple

    boot with your boot disk


    and at the A:\> prompt type

    A:\>AWDFLASH V1105AG.BIN

    so basically A:\>(.exe name)[space](xxx.bin)

    you could always add another space on the end and type backup.bin and I think it backs the old one up for you automatically.

    Hope that helps.
     
  7. Condor

    Condor TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 461

    Hey Greeno thz for y0 time.

    It seen more ez for y0 since you sound very familiar with flash bios experience.

    This is my first time, I r afraid that I might screw up the bios flash then unable to use my computer.

    But I might tried it when everything fail , the bios flash are my last resort I guess :)

    Ah 2 disk, that's an great idea. 1 bootable and the another awdflash + bin file.

    Just to make sure ^^

    so basically I just need to type A:\>AWDFLASH V1105AG.BIN
    (disk 2)

    then to back the bios up I just need to type A:\>AWDFLASH backup.BIN ?

    Perhaps changing the bin file sound nice.

    thx again for da bios flash procedures :blush:
     
  8. Greeno

    Greeno TS Rookie Posts: 394

    very close mate :)

    A:\>AWDFLASH V1105AG.BIN BACKUP.BIN

    "SHOULD" work :)

    there are bound to be websites around detailing award flash, did the flash program have a readme with it ?

    hope it all goes well mate
     
  9. Condor

    Condor TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 461

    cool y0!

    I found this, hope its what y0 looking for. :cool:

    VIA ApolloKT133A chipset (8363A+686A/686B, Socket A) ATX/microATX
    Award BIOS

    V1105AG.BIN BIOS for (KT133A + 686A/686B)


    .2MBit Flash
    .March/2001 core
    .Initial mass production release
    (March/2001)

    .2MBit Flash
    .July/2001 built core
    .corrected Win9x restart issue
    (July/2001)

    .2Mbit Flash
    .October/2001 built core
    .added support on "Athlon XP" CPU
    (October/2001)

    .2Mbit Flash
    .Jan/2002 built core
    .added support on showing the name "Athlon XP 2000+" CPU
    (January/2002)

    .2Mbit Flash
    .Aug/2002 built core
    .added support on showing the name "Athlon XP 2100+/2200+" CPU
    (Aug/2002)

    .2Mbit Flash
    .Nov/2002 built core
    .added support on showing the name "Athlon XP 2400+/2600+" CPU
    (Nov/2002)

    ---

    I also got the Awdflash.exe .

    thx y0 Greeno
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.