how old were you when you built your 1st PC?

STK

How old was everyone when they built their first computer, if you have built one already? you can also tell us what it was, or any other stories about computers you tried to build.

I've been into computers since the age of about 5 or 6 but I took a break from the ages of about 16 to 21.

When I was 21, I got back into computers. My life changed the day I got a 486 back then. I upgraded it to a pentium 200. But I did not fit the motherboard myself.

Sometime after that my HDD died, and I had to buy a new one. So I fitted it myself. It took me about 1 hour just to get it inside that small, packed case, and to get the BIOS to recognise it, to format, it, etc. Then was when I installed Windows for the first time as well.

It all began at that moment. Now, I can fix PCs in my sleep. It doesn't matter what is wrong with them. And I work for a multinational investment bank as an operate programmer, I write Perl and Java code and work with UNIX systems. I could only do that because of what happened to me that day when I fit that drive.

Of course, I went on to build whole computers. I even took a job as a computer technician for years after. I worked on an NT LAN. We upgraded the domain to Windows 2000. All of these things I could not have done without what happened on that day.

I was 17 when I built my first PC. I developed an interest for computers at a very young age, but my parents didn't buy one until I was 14. It it was a slow learning process, but once I got a computer I could mess with, my ability to work with PC's took off like a rocket. I've recently graduated with a Computer Science Degree and work as a systems administrator at a small office.