How to clean &reinstall xp for a novice

Status
Not open for further replies.

philthyphil

Hi,I'm new to computers and my wife has xp windows,she has so much garbage on there,things like drag to a disc wont work and it takes ages to be operational...have been advised to wipe the hdd and reinstall xp...I have all the necessary discs ,but am all at sea re. how to go about it...does the hdd wipe itself when you put the disc in??how do I reinstall drivers or can I save them??all these questions...sure hope someone can tell me in layman terms....thanks..... philthyphil

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

You need to do the following.

Diconnect from the net and don`t reconnect, until you have your firewall software installed.

1 Restart your computer and go to setup usually by pressing the F2 or delete key.

2 Once you get into setup look for the boot menu and make sure you set it to boot from cd first followed by your hard drive.

3 Put the Windows xp disk into your cd drive.

4 Now save your settings and exit setup.

5 While your computer is booting you will see a message that says "press any key to boot from cd" press any key.

6 When the welcome to setup screen appears press enter and then press F8 to accept the Microsoft licence agreement.

7 You will be prompted to repair an installation press the escape key.

8 Now select the partition that you want to reformat and press the D key to delete it you will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the partition.

9 Now press C to create a brand new partition you will be asked what size you want the partition to be in mega bytes. If you just press enter then the partition will be the maximum size that you can have. This is perfectly ok if you don`t want to create multiple partitions.

10 You will now be asked to format the partition select the ntfs file sytem and do a full format.

11 Once the format is complete setup will continue.