HP keyboard shortcuts

By JesseM
Jan 16, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hey everyone, I'm new to these keyboards with special buttons to open web browsers and play music and such. I just got a new computer, and I feel really stupid asking for help with this, but I can't figure out how to get these buttons to work and how to configure them! Any help would be appreciated.
  2. nismo91

nismo91 TechSpot Maniac Posts: 989   +6

I don;t think you could configure them as you wish.
    In my school right now, the hp's keyboard are also a multimedia keyboard (lot of buttons above) and i can sort of configure it in the control panel...
  3. JesseM

JesseM TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 258

Alright, well I guess my main problem is that the buttons do not work. Once I can get them to work I'll worry about configuring them! Thank you for trying to help though.
  4. JesseM

OK now I got it to work! All I needed was to download a driver manually from HP, pssh... But now I have a new problem.

The media controls (play, pause, previous, next, etc.) only work when iTunes or WMP are in the foreground. I am wondering if anyone knows how to get around this so I can change songs and stuff when I am playing a game or something like that. Is there some kind of 3rd party program that lets you do that?
  5. zipperman

zipperman Newcomer, in training Posts: 1,423   +7

Included software

These types of keyboards should include a cd installation to make it
    programable.Did you get one ?
    Thats how my Logitech works.
  6. JesseM

No it didn't come with any CD. Everything on the computer was pretty much pre-installed. I figured out how to configure the buttons and stuff but the media controls only work when iTunes or WMP are in the forground. Is there any way i can control them even when they are in the background?
  7. zipperman

It might be installed