I am new to the lossless audio format. I need HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

maniac_lonestar

1) What is better, .wav or .flac? Which is the actual lossless?

2) Does the type of program I use encode/rip at different qualities?

3) I did a little confusing research, and learned that if I wanted to rip .flac, I could use Autoflac OR EAC. But when I install Autoflac, it says EAC. What the crap? Autoflac doesn't even load.

4) Omg, I can't even play or use any programs to use and edit .flac file. Help!

5) It doesn't make sense! .wav files can be played, but everywhere I go I hear about .flac does it have better quality or something? I thought both were lossless.

.wav is usually not compressed, so you lose a lot of disk space using that.

Lossless encoding is perfect by definition, so the encoder makes no difference. Different ripping programs may put more or less effort into getting a perfect signal from the CD of course.

Can you actually hear the difference between a lossless audio file and an MP3? If you can't hear the difference, then there is none and there would be no point in (re)ripping all your CDs. I hope you are not considering re-encoding your MP3 files to lossless audio :)

Well if I re-encode to high quality, real quality actually be a little bit better?

Also, I didn't say I was gonna make all audio lossless, but only Ludacris audio, because Ludacris is the greatest MC ever. I mean I want to rip from Ludacris CD's to make a non CD backup for my Ludacris so that if I ever get too much scratches on a disk or loses the cd, then atleast I can use my .flac .wav files

Now please, can I get helpful information?

Fresh meat! Hey maniac - I'm a huge lossless aficionado and flac is my format of choice as well.