I have a problemwith trying to burn dvd's

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a novice when it comes to computers, so I hope you guys can bare with me. I own a Dell computer and I have never had this problem until the other day. I have always been able to burn dvd's from an image file using Ulead DVD Moviefactory but now I can't. When I try to burn the dvd I get "Failed to burn to the disc."

I went into MyComputer and clicked on the CD Drive (E:) and I get the message "E:\ is not accesible. Incorrect function" I went to properties and clicked on Recording and I clicked on the Enable CD recording on this drive but I still have the same problem.

The problem started after I downloaded Nero 7 Ultra Edition 7.5.7.0. After realizing this might be the problem. I did a general clean sweep of the Nero but I still can't get my dvd to work.

I even tried to download pictures to a DVD using Media Center and it works up to 60% and then the DVD tray opens up and there is an error message on the screen.

I hope there is someone who can help me out. Would buying a new DVD drive fix this problem? Thanks for taking the time to read this.

you will have a problem burning dvd's if you select cd, it must be set to dvd and not cd be sure that you have made correctselection

tomrca said:
you will have a problem burning dvd's if you select cd, it must be set to dvd and not cd be sure that you have made correctselection

When I right click on start and hit on Explore, it only shows the CD drive, no dvd drive. Like I said before, I'm a novice at this so I do not know where I would look for the dvd drives. Is there a chance it was deleted and I would have to bring it back somehow?

Any help would be appreciated.

Revert back to Nero 6 Express if you can. There is no need for all the bloatware downloaded with Nero 7. You'll have enough problems with program compatibility with that Dell. It comes preloaded with plenty of bloatware on it already