TechSpot

I just want to toast bread

By Cremaster
Jan 4, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. I am a noob and found the site because you host files for ifranview.

A bit about myself. I am 53 and when I get up in the morning I like to put my bread in the toaster and have it magically produce toast. I feel good when this happens. I do not have to download a firmware update for my toaster to make toast, I don't have to reinstall anything, all I have to do is shove a piece of bread which can be V1.0 or V6.33425, that is somewhat the same size as the slot and it makes toast. This makes me happy.

Today I put a memory card from a camera into the multi card reader on my computer. It recognized that I put a card in it but would not show the contents, in fact it insulted me by asking me to insert a card. Is that not adding insult to injury? I had to go out and spend $$$ on a new card reader, or try to figure out what the heck was wrong with the one on my computer which might not be the reader but the card or even the card format or what galaxy I was in at the time. Quite simply it was easier for me to go buy a new reader than to have hours of my life sucked out of me by a rogue OS (windows), driver search, viri and malware sweeps, reboots to find out it was still broken, and reading and rereading the manual.

I want my computer to do things and save me time. It does neither but I still hope that one day home computers will not be a hobbyist item but a consumer item. I suspect that until we are fed up enough to pay for quality hardware and software that we will never see that dream.

I came in here because of a malware infection that I hope I can clear.

2. Benny26

Benny26 TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,577   +47