I Need Help! I'm Not A Wiz At Computers But Learn Fast...

Status
Not open for further replies.

notacompwizyet

Ok... Every 10 minutes to an hour McAfee SecurityCenter reports a file named bgates[1].exe or 2 other files and it's getting annoying! They can't be deleted unless you go search and delete them manually but they keep comeing back? Why? I already looked it up on the net and I think its a trojan but I'm kinda new to this trojan stuff so can someone teach me about it and how to get rid of it? Nothing on the net has helped me yet can someone here? Thank you very much...

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

That sounds like a trojan infection.

Go HERE and follow the instructions exactly.

Post a fresh HJT log as a .txt attachment into this thread, only after doing the above.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

notacompwizyet said:
wat a hjt?

HJT=HijackThis. It is a small programme that will show whats running on your system including viruses etc.

All the instructions are in the link I gave you.

Just take your time, following the instructions. They aren`t that difficult.

Regards Howard :)

ok im getting mad... those scanners were taking forever and so i went to sleep came back this morning and my computer was off! i turned it back on and internet explorer popped up saying that there was an error and it had to restart! im posting the hijack this post thing because i dont want to scan using those again unless i have to...

Looks like you`ve done a really good job so far.

You might want to copy and paste these instructions into a notepad file. Then you can have the file open in safe mode, so you can follow the instructions easier.

Boot into safe mode. See how HERE. http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial61.html

Turn off system restore.(XP/ME only) See how HERE. http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial56.html