I need some help to desing my CPU

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everybody, my name is Angel López and I'm from Mexico. I'm a postgraduated student and i need a new computer in order to do some calculations (I use fortran to do the programs), so I've been researching a lot in order to desing a good and a cheap computer, but I have a lot of questions, I hope you can help me.
This is what I have decided so far:

1 Motherboard. Asus P5Kc, I really want a MB with the new chipset P35, but the extra features of the P5K deluxe are useless to me (I think). However i have some interest also on the Gigabyte GA-P35_Ds3l, what do you think?

2 Processor. Intel Core 2 Duo E4300, I like it's price and the posibility of the overclocking.

3 Case. I really don't care about the case, all I need is something solid to put everything. However I your suggestions are wellcome.

4 Power Supply. I'm not quite sure abut what do I need, I was thinking on a Cooler Master Extreme Power of 550Watts, but I dont know if I need more power (or maybe less)?

5 Cooler. Thermalright 120 Extreme or the Tuniq 120 Tower.

6 Graphics Card. I don't need a very sofisticated card, i won't used it really, I am not a gamer. How ever, from time to time I watch a video or edit some images with Photoshop, but that's all. I was thinking on a GeForce 8500GT, but I'm not sure abut the manufacturer, there are a lot and i don't know the differences between them.

7 Hard Disk. I already have a 320GB SATA II WD. I think that I really don't need more.