TechSpot

IE7 Problems.

By stelch
Oct 26, 2006
  1. I can't set my home page as default. It always goes to some Microsoft site.
    Any ideas?

    Stelios
     
  2. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    I`m a little concerned that you can`t set your homepage.

    Read this thread HERE and post a HJT log as an attachment. I`ll check it out and advise.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  3. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    What do you mean to post a HJT log as an attachment? It's all Greek to me.

    Stelios
     
  4. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Read the instructions and all will be revealed.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  5. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    Hello Howard, I still don't get it.
    Every time I open IE7 it gets me to this page, even after change the Home page at the Tools settings:

    http://runonce.msn.com/runonce2.aspx



    Stelios
     
  6. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Download hijackThis from HERE.

    Extract it and rename the HijackThis.exe file to HijackThis1991.exe.

    Place HijackThis1991.exe in it`s own directory such as C:\progam files\HJT\HijackThis1991.exe

    Once done, right click HijackThis1991.exe and choose send to: Desktop(create shortcut).

    Close programme files.

    Double click HijackThis1991.exe on your desktop and Click on Do a system scan and save a logfile.

    Save the log to where ever you want. Then attach it to your next post in this thread.

    Regards Howard :)
     
  7. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 17,244   +234

    I've been using IE7 Beta for several months. Recently the released IE7 became available. There were problems in the beta, but the released IE7 works fine for me. I don't like tabbed browsing so I turned it off...
     
  8. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    Howard here is the log file that I got after running hijackthis. What I am going to do now?
     
  9. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    I have moved your posts to their own thread in our security and the web forum.

    You might want to copy and paste these instructions into a notepad file. Then you can have the file open in safe mode, so you can follow the instructions easier.

    Turn off system restore.(XP/ME only) See how here.> http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial56.html

    Boot into safe mode, under your normal user name(NOT THE ADMINISTRATOR ACCOUNT). See how here.> http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial61.html

    In Windows Explorer, turn on "Show all files and folders, including hidden and system". See how here.> http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial62.html

    Click start/run and type services.msc into the run box and press the enter key.

    When the window appears, maximise it. Double click on the following services(if there) and select stop if they are running. Set the startup type to disabled. Click apply/ok for each service you disable.

    CommServer

    Close the services window.

    Open your task manager, by holding down the ctrl and alt keys and pressing the delete key.

    Click on the processes tab and end process for(if there).

    Commsvr.exe

    Close task manager.

    Run HJT with no other programmes open(except notepad). Click the scan button. Have HJT fix the following, by placing a tick in the little box next to(if there).

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://bimbo.hte.com.cy/webmail/

    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54729

    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896

    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896

    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=55245&clcid={SUB_CLCID}

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = proxy.logosnet.cy.net:8080<Only fix this if you didn`t set this proxy your self, or you don`t know what it is.

    O11 - Options group: [INTERNATIONAL] International*

    O15 - Trusted IP range: 80.76.58.139

    O15 - Trusted IP range: http://192.168.1.195

    O16 - DPF: {15AD6789-CDB4-47E1-A9DA-992EE8E6BAD6} - http://static.windupdates.com/cab/CDT/ie/bridge-c2.cab

    O16 - DPF: {66F7F252-3FE1-4650-B1E5-94B2A38271C5} (ActiveView Control) - http://80.76.58.139/ActiveView.cab

    O16 - DPF: {7876E4A5-78B7-4020-B08F-C960A1ED54C9} (WebWatch Class) - http://192.168.1.195/Ctl/WinWebPush.cab

    O16 - DPF: {D1E7CBDA-E60E-4970-A01C-37301EF7BF98} (Measurement Services Client v.3.11) - http://gameadvisor.futuremark.com/global/msc311.cab

    O23 - Service: CommServer - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Commsvr.exe

    Click on the fix checked button.

    Close HJT.

    Locate and delete the following bold files and/or directories(if there).

    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Commsvr.exe


    Reboot into normal mode, turn system restore back on and rehide your protected OS files.

    Post a fresh HJT log and let me know how your system is running.

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of stelch only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  10. sexytech

    sexytech TS Rookie

    there is a conflict with IE and bigfix. the resoultion so for is to Closes the BigFix application
    A batch file runs to remove a conflict
    Re-opens the BigFix application
     
  11. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

  12. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Your HJT log now appears to be clean.

    However, something`s obviously not right. With that in mind go HERE and follow the instructions exactly.

    Post fresh HJT and AVG Antispyware logs as Attachments, only after doing the above.

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of stelch only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  13. LNCPapa

    LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,209   +424

    I posted this earlier in another thread
    Try this - Open up Internet Properties in your Control Panel. Goto the Programs tab and select Manage Add-ons. Select each add-on and disable it (not delete) and once you've done that try relaunching IE. It should launch fine and you should be able to answer the questions on that run-once page. It's asking you to make some default settings. Once you've done that close IE and you should be able to re-enable your add-ons.
     
  14. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    Am I Clean?

    Hi
    I am posting a hijackthis log, so someone (Howard I guess) can check it out and see if my PC is clean or if there is something that has to be removed.

    Stelios
     
  15. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    I have merged your new thread into this one. Please continue to post in this thread.

    I want to see an AVG antispyware log.

    Can you tell me what this programme is? C:\Program Files\SlDB

    Have HJT fix the following entries.

    O11 - Options group: [INTERNATIONAL] International*

    Fix all 015-Trusted zone entries.

    Other than the above, your HJT log looks clean.

    I take it you do recognise this entry? R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = proxy.logosnet.cy.net:8080

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of stelch only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  16. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    Hi Howard,
    Thanks for your prompt reply.
    This programme is? C:\Program Files\SlDB is Streamload Downloader.
    I will fix the others as you have suggested.

    Thanks again
    Stelios
     
  17. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    Hi Howard

    How do I get the AVG antispyware log? I have done a scan for viruses and it was clean. I could't see an optionin my AVG for antispyware check. I have the AVG Version 7.5

    Stelios
     
  18. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    AVG Antispyware is a completely different programme from the AVG Antivirus programme. Instructions on where to get it and how to use it can be found HERE.

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of stelch only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  19. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    Thanks for the info Howard. Why should I click the word active to change it to inactive. Doesnt this mean that the program will not be working?

    Stelios
     
  20. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    It`s not necessary to have the programme running in the backgound. That`s why you should change it to inactive. By all means keep it active if you wish, but if you notice a slowdown with your system, you`ll know why.

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of stelch only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  21. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    OK thanks for the info. Here is my AVG Anty-Spyware log as you have suggested.

    Stelios

    P.S. I have now on my PC PestPatrol running all the time. Should I also disable it? From your experience does AVG Anti-Spyware does a better job? What about Spybot?
     
  22. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    No problem there.

    Try this.

    Temporarily uninstall Pestpatrol and see if you can set your home page. Let me know the results please.

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of stelch only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
  23. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    OK I will try that when I get to my office tomorrow morning, as the problem is with my office laptop. Thanks a lot for your help Howard.

    Stelios
     
  24. stelch

    stelch TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 57

    Good morning Howard

    I have unistalled Pestatrol but still I cannot set my home page. I am sending you a fresh hijackthis file.

    Stelios
     
  25. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso TS Rookie Posts: 24,177   +19

    Have HJT fix this nasty entry.

    O16 - DPF: {15AD6789-CDB4-47E1-A9DA-992EE8E6BAD6} - http://static.windupdates.com/cab/CDT/ie/bridge-c2.cab

    Other than that your HJT log is clean.

    Let`s try this.

    Boot into safe mode with networking and see if you can set your home page. If you can, boot into normal mode and see if your home page is still set.

    Regards Howard :)

    This thread is for the use of stelch only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...