I'm baaack

By almcneil
Oct 27, 2008
  1. Well, I'm not exactly a newbie here, more like I've been MIA for about a year. I have posted an emergency request a few times, but I did disappear after being a regular TSer (I made it to TechSpot Booster!) Since I'm back, I should re-introduce myself for all the newbies and, perhaps, those who have forgotten me.

My name is Andy and I run an in-home computer servicing at Ottawa, Canada. Actually, I'm a FORMER high tech engineer. Ottawa, besides being the nation's capital, is also Canada's Silicon Valley. I worked 15 years in it. But the high tech collapse finally caught up with me mid-2003. After that, it was 3.5 years of mostly unemployment and under-employment. After only getting two short contracts during that period, I realized that the high tech depression has no end in sight and it was time to start a new career. problem is, no one hires middle-aged people in new careers. With little carryover, we're not much better than new grads and with all that experience in a former field, high tech, that typically pays well, they decline on you. The only other choice is self-employment.

One of my "under-employed" jobs during the 3.5 period was at a Dell call centre. Dell wanted a call centre for its US home market that provided software support where most agents spoke fluent, easy to understand english. Well, Ottawa fits the bill with lots of unemployed high tech talent, most of whom speak fluent english. it was while working there I learned all about fixing computers. Despite being a high tech engineer, I didn't know a lot about fixing computer, just a lot about using them (I designed embedded systems, not the same as a PC) I learned TONS . I left for a short contract in high tech but it didn't get renewed. Dell refused to take me back as they wanted persons for the long haul and, obviously, that was not me. I finally settled on starting my own in-home computer servicing business.