I'm conducting a small project about sexism in the IT industry...

Do you think that sexism is a prevalent issue in the IT industry?

• Yes.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes, but it's not a big deal.

• Maybe a bit.

• Not at all.

• Total voters
Hi there, I'm new to the forum but I've had a look around and you look like a nice enough bunch :)

I was wondering if I could ask for some help on something, though - I'm studying on a CISCO and City & Guilds adult course at college at the moment and I have a subsidiary class on user support, presentation skills etc.

I have been asked to conduct a debate/presentation about men, women and sexism in the IT industry. I.e. Is there a sexism issue? If so, why and what forms does it take? Do you feel that the input or services of men or women are held in unbalanced esteem for any reason? Has anyone here experienced sexism in the work place?

Any input will be most helpful; I'd like have a good mixture of perspectives from men and women, if possible.

Thanks,

RainyDays

"I don't know/not sure"

It is hard to say when practically everyone has a perspective from a relatively small population when compared to the rest of the world. Just look at all the major cities and ask, if they have this problem as a whole regardless of profession. The little backwater town I'm in shouldn't would hardly count for anything when casting a vote.

From my perspective women haven't wanted the position. It is not as if they want it and are being denied. But then I am from a small town and have little contact with someone who might pursue this profession.

I suggest you abort the presentation right now. No good will come from it. If you want to continue - are you male? If yes, then you need to say "there is some evidence of sexism towards females" no matter what data you collect.

I have no sexism in my workplace, but that may be skewed because it's at a university with employees who each have a degree and so are educated.