Installing IDE drive without formatting?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

Total newb here. I've got a 145gb hard drive here that I want to install into my Dell Dimension 9100. It was inside a Western Digital external hard drive/media center setup, but I took it out because the power cord is damanged, and wanted to install it into my computer instead. My main HDD on the system is SATA, and this one is of course IDE. I only have ONE IDE port/connector(whatever) on my motherboard, and it is currently housing my CD-RW and my DVD-RW. I would be okay with removing the CD-RW so I can put the IDE drive in. I was wondering if someone could give me *****-proof instructions on what to do.

Should I set the IDE HD as master and my DVD-RW as slave? Or would it matter? Can I install this drive into my system WITHOUT formatting it? Because the power cord does not seem to work, so I cannot transfer my data from it to my SATA drive. I cannot format this drive, it has very important files on it that I cannot afford to lose. I've Googled quite a few sites and they all end up with you installing a blank IDE drive, and formatting it, but mine is not blank. Any help that could be offered would be grand.

Elaborate.

Are you saying you can no longer power the drive up?

If that is the case, you're a bit beyond formatting, because the drive is dead.

Ideally, you should make that drive the primary master and make the optical drive the primary slave, then ensure your system is still booting from your SATA disk. You will not need to format at all; Windows will detect the new drive and assign it a letter.

However, none of that matters if the drive is dead.