Intel vs. AMD

Status
Not open for further replies.

guitto

I understand this is still speculation, but I read an article from Rahul Sood reviewing AMD's Phenom 3 Ghz. I am still new to complex architecture of processors, but how do you think the phenom will compare to the EE of intel?

intel has always had better quality merchandise. even though almost all of their dual core chips operate below the 3.0ghz range, they still manage to deliver better performance than 90% of the amd chips out there.

the new chips will perform admirably. but will likely not outperform intel's chips. if anything, i'd be willing to wager that they are now catching up to intel rather. and intel will likely come up with their own super chip to raise the bar higher.

This is the question that is always being asked. In order to really know how the 'Phenom' compares to Intel' you will have to read some reviews. I believe that AMD will lose again. Don't forget that AMD was way ahead before the Core 2 Duo. Now the tides are turned. Today it's Intel And Nvidia.

I have to agree with you pdyckman. Although I might not have been in the era of ATI dominance, if it existed, since then Nvidia has held its own with their 6800 Ultras to their 8800 ultras now. I just skimmed the review on the coverpage of TS. 45 nm, damn, but it is ~$1,200. Im sure the prices will stay stiff due to AMD's lack of something on par with this. Is anyone using a yorkfield core yet? If so, would you mind adding your input, I am very interested if the bang is worth the buck.

link590o said:
intel has always had better quality merchandise. even though almost all of their dual core chips operate below the 3.0ghz range, they still manage to deliver better performance than 90% of the amd chips out there.
You couldn't be more wrong. For a little over 3 years AMD was dominating over Intel by a large money, not by wealth but by CPU performance. It wasn't till the C2D's came out that Intel regained the lead.