TechSpot

intro and needs help

By antradox
May 26, 2006
  1. hi. ive just got my very own personal computer,and am liking it so you could say i am a computer newbie, am learning new things though which has been interesting

things got most interesting when i got a notice from AVG a virus is detected, did a whole computer scan turns out there was 6 of them had them off, then restarted my comp, and it keeps saying that cant find orderjevo.exe
    ive managed to find the file and delete it, suspecting its the program causing probs
    well the problems only started to get worse
    1. windows firewall somehow turned itself off,(or is it..)and i cant turn it on it says we're sorry blahblah...then asked me to go manual, which i did (control panel, windows firewall) then it says due to an unidentified problem, windows cannot show firewall settings. so what now guys??

2.downloaded zone alarm firewall, then tried installing it......says something bout truevector and needed to be disabled or something, now i cant even uninstall it or reinstall it..so the question goes......

3.the hourglass icon keeps appearing next to my mouse cursor every second!!! it driving me nuts....and i could hear the harddrive making sound as if it was searching for something but its not , because i didnt open anything. it happened when i (supposedly) managed to successfully install zonealarm firewall.

4.how do you stop all of these......(btw my anti virus was an AVG free version)

so guys...sure need some help here for a newbie

2. Speed01

Speed01 TS Rookie

Hi Antradox

One of the files that AVG deleted/quarantined were set to startup with Windows each time the computer boots up. It could have been an infected file required by one of the programs running on your machine or a file opening the virus. Does it still come up saying it cannot find it?

Following is a link to fix the Zone Alarm Firewall issue. This may also fix the Windows Firewall issue.