Is it safe to change Memory Latencies??

Status
Not open for further replies.

franklogus

Hi all !
I just got my new PC, with the basic following spec:

Processor: Pentium 4 3.0C (HT, 800Mhz, L2=512Kb)
Mobo: Asus P4P800-E DeLuxe
Video Card: MSI 9800PRO
Memory: 02 sticks of 512 MB Samsung DDR400 (The Model of my memory is recommended for Asus for Stable Overclock with my MoBo )
HD : SATA 150, 200 GB, Seagate

I am very glad with my computer (except by bad noise of stock cooler of my CPU), but I would like to give some "boost" on it. For to do it, I can use some features of my MoBo, but I am afraid of to do something wrong, because I am not an PC expert (far from this ...).

I have read some reviews, and the most interesting I found at this site: X-bit Labs, where they did a nice and deep analysis of my MoBo...

They told that there is a feature in the BIOS where we can get some "boost" of performance, but we need to have some pre-conditions to get success: "... you can achieve better results with DDR400 SDRAM, but only if you also enable the Performance Mode, but you need support of 2-2-2-5 timings for that! Not all memory modules are operational at such timings..."
"... Performance Mode gives a positive effect only with 200MHz FSB and requires that the memory modules were stable with 2-2-2-5 timings at such FSB clock rate. By setting the Performance Mode option to “Turbo”, you reach noticeable performance gains..."

So, my question is:

1) Can I to change these settings of my current memory in a safe way?

2) Is there some danger of damage on trying it?
I use the CPU-Z utilitary, and it says me that my memory have the settings : 2,5 - 3 - 3 - 8... Can I try to change it (into BIOS) to 2 - 2 - 2 - 5, without any additional change? [Only to remember, my memory is "approved" for Asus to support overclock].

3) Why doesnt my Samsung Model Memory (approved by Asus) dont have that settings (2-2-2-5) originally??