Issues With DirectX(Direct3D)And Driver update.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am not very computer inclined, because I'm still learning, but my problems is that when I went out and bought myself Neverwinter Nights(Ask if you want the specs)
My computer had a horrible time running it however, the game is old and isn't something that should lag. So I went and talked to Atari, and they said it was a problem with my Direct3D, which I went into the DirectX Dignostics and checked. I don't trust companies, they make mistakes. So Then I went and got the update for DirectX making it Vers. 9.0
Then after realizing that my Driver should be updated to work with it, I did so, I'm not sure if it was correctly done, but chances are it was.
Now a larger problem has arisen, I can no longer do anything with my display or my computer will reset itself, for example, trying to run a full screan program, or even changing the size of my desktop. It's fusterating me now and I'd like assistance, can you help?

--My computer specs
AMD Sempron 2200, 1.45Ghz
512Mb Of RAM
ATI Radeon 9000 pro, 128mb
(Anything else that matters, ask?)

Update!
I have gotten my computer to stop shutting down when the video changes now, but I still have problems with DirectX.

How recent are your system & video card drivers?

It is my guess that if you don't have recent ATI Catalyst drivers (for your Radeon 9000) to "play nice" with DirectX v9, that may be the issue. Go to http://www.ati.com and download the latest Catalyst drivers, if you haven't already.

Another consideration is your operating system: If you are running anything besides Windows XP or 2000, I would say that is also a likely culprit. If it is Win 98 or ME, I would highly recommend an upgrade, or preferably, a clean install to XP. If it's 2000 or XP, make sure you have the most recent Service Pack installed. I'm guessing that it is not XP Service Pack 2, or it would have already had DirectX 9.0c installed.