Items needed to build a new computer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cronocloud

I'm wanting to build a new computer because mine is very out of date and i was wondering what are all the neccesary components all i can think of is

Case,Motherboard,CPU,RAM,mouse,keyboard,speakers,monitor,sound card,video card..modem with Lan thingy?? i dunno im a newb...

and another question i was having some problems deciding on a motherboard all i really need is a motherboard with a pentium 4 i think...some help please...

(the things im going to use this computer for is mainly online gaming,chatting on msn,listening to music,browsing forums)(all at the same time)

some assistance please?

nu-b check it out....

You have to make a decision what you REALLY intend the computer to be primarily used for. A gaming computer will be a lot more expensive to build than one you use to surf the net and write papers on. Heck, I have a piece of crap laptop at work - a pentium 2 just to surf the net and write papers and process forms.

A gaming computer will require a very fast CPU, quite a bit of onboard memory and a high end graphics card with a lot of graphics memory.
needless to say - this will cost buckazoids.

AMD tends to have the edge for gaming system CPUs.

If you intend on building a computer to run scientific applications, databases, and other types of computing intensive business software, than an Intel system is a better choice for a CPU.

If you just intend on being a casual gamer, then you don't need the latest and greatest CPU or motherboard. Heck I run my latest computer I built on an MSI K78N Delta 2 platinum motherboard with an Athlon 2500+ XP CPU. My graphics card isn't the highest end, but it fits the job and I can play Doom 3, Medal of Honor and other games pretty decently. Its an FX 5500 card with 128 megs of memory on the card.

My motherboard has 1.5 GIGs of memory way more than I need.