Keep getting memory errors!

By ned4spd8874
Jul 12, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Keep getting referenced memory errors!

    We have a custom built application in our company that on one computer for one user keeps giving that infamous memory errors! I found this forum by searching Google with the error string and was hoping that maybe someone here could help me out. We've swapped out systems, swapped out memory, swapped hard drives...nothing. I suspect that it's a problem with our in-house program, but since it's only happening for one person, they don't believe us! Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

    Here is the text of the error message:

    The instruction at "0x00fabf0c" referenced memory at "0x00000000". The memory could not be "read".

    Click on OK to terminate the problem.
    Click on CANCEL to debug the program.

    Note that "0x00fabf0c" is not always the same. That has been different addresses.
  2. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,745   +156

    Your post is a bit confusing. You swapped out systems and the memory error is still present... on the swapped system? If you swapped out systems for the person experiencing the problem. The error has to be with network connection or the peripherals attached to the system, at that specific location or desk...

    What is the "In-house" program?
  3. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Yes, on both of the systems he still gets the memory errors. He doesn't have any peripherals connected to his system besides the mouse, monitor & keyboard.

    The in-house program is some warehouse distribution program. I think they built it with Sybase. Or I know that it uses Sybase and needs ODBC setup.

    You think the network connection might be to blame though? I don't see how that could be....well, the program is run off of the server. So, I guess I could see that.
  4. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,364   +167

    Don't know what kind of system, language, compiler etc. you used to build and run your application, but a message about an instruction referencing a memory that couldn't be read doesn't really mean the problem is memory!
    Especially when the address is listed at 0x000.

    I agree with previous poster it's not likely memory if same problem ocurred on two different systems. You can find find some freeware memory test programs online and run them just to test the memory. Then i'd start taking a closer look at the software application you're running, the code you wrote, how it's linked together, etc. See where in the program the fault occurs and use a debugger to get a better handle on what's really causing your problem.
  5. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,745   +156

    You have swapped entire systems so we know this is not a system problem. The only thing in common with both systems is the man's network connection. You take it from there... This is not rocket science. If other employees use the same program without experiencing memory problems. It is not a program fault either. It has to be with the network physical connection or the server node that this work station is connected to
  6. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    The problem is that its not my program and the developer's who wrote it are saying that it's not their problem. They keep pointing to a hardware issue or something of that nature. I have never fully believed it to be anything other than an issue with their programming, but can't say that for 100% sure.

    I just thought I would post this here and see if anyone had any ideas. I know the hardware IS good. But I just wasn't sure if there was something in Windows maybe that could be the issue. Or office, or Internet Explorer, etc. maybe.
  7. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,745   +156

    You didn't say if others are using the in-house program without having memory errors. If others have no issues, it is not a software issue either.

    IT HAS TO BE WITH THE WORKSTATION THAT THE 2 SYSTEMS WERE TRIED ON.

    THE NETWORK CONNECTION IS THE ONLY THING IN COMMON AT THAT WORKSTATION...


    I can't say this any clearer! Try moving another network cable from a working area and see if the system located in the "memory errors" workstation finally runs without errors
  8. almcneil

    almcneil TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,554

    LOL!! I used to be a high tech engineer before I became a comp tech. I know about these mysterious glitches that can't be reporoduced by others! Now, I didn't do any database programming but still, it likely is a programming bug but it only appears on his system because there's something different in his configuration. Either make his system identical to the others or isolate what the difference is for the programmers.

    First, that error message means the program tried to reference a memory address called "NULL" (0x00000000) That's not an addressable memory location.

    Next, is he using the same Windows OS as the others? Is he using any anti-virus or anti-spyware utils the other aren't? Is he using the same version of the in-house program as the others?
  9. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    "Next, is he using the same Windows OS as the others?" - Yes

    "Is he using any anti-virus or anti-spyware utils the other aren't?" - No

    "Is he using the same version of the in-house program as the others?" - Yes & No - He is one of those users that has "special" stuff loaded. He uses a couple different versions of this program actually. For some reason, we have a different version for different companies. There are only two systems like this and his is one of them.

    And yes, he is that user that is always having problems. No matter what, there's always an email from him because he has that haunted cube that always breaks!
  10. almcneil

    almcneil TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,554

    Well then, there's the answer! It's a bug in the program. Although the users at the other locations aren't having the problem, they're using a different version (or we call "build") of the program. This person's build has a bug in it's software that the others don't.

    Is he the type of person that can't solve his own problems, no matter how trivial? The instant something doesn't work, he runs for help rather than first trying to fix it himself?
  11. almcneil

    almcneil TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,554

    Let me explain why I'm almost positive it's a bug in the program. It's because I used to be a high tech engineer. When writing programs, we often use what are called "pointers" They're a very powerful programming feature that can quickly manipulate regions memory. But they are also very tricky and if you are not careful, you can address a region of memory that doesn't exist! When that happens, the program crashes. The CPU rejects the instruction citing an invalid memory request and the program can't recover.
     
  12. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,364   +167

    OK.. So i'm a real old-time programmer (anyone else remember or ever program the DEC PDP-8? or CDC 6400?) and screwing up pointers is certainly one way for an instruction to reference memory address 0x00. Certainly the fact they were referencing address 0x00 in the error message indicates a programming error. But 0x00 is often the "catch all" address for any address that must be resolved and correct before run-time (e.g. linkage/build problems can cause them too).

    At least the days of having that problem because your program did a wild write into the program space doesn't happen much any more!
  13. almcneil

    almcneil TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,554

    Agreed. In fact, if the program miscalculates an address that is negative, the default error message is for address 0x00 (or "NULL" in programming languages.)

    Despite what you think old man, this error still happens today and quite regularly!! LOL!!
  14. raybay

    raybay TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 10,716   +6

    "...this error still happens today and quite regularly!! LOL!!..."

    We would call it a very rare occurence in our shop in any computer built since May of 2001

    It looks like a simple hardware error is part of the problem... likely a driver.
  15. almcneil

    almcneil TechSpot Guru Posts: 1,554

    Ray, I was referring to my days as a programmer. That error message happens a lot when you're writing a program.
  16. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Well, I discovered that his .pst file was being stored on the network. I moved that locally with the hopes that maybe that might be a cause. Well, he hasn't gotten the same error, but he did get this error now:

    the instruction at "0x1164aa90" referenced memory at "0x1164aa90". the required data was not placed into memory because of an i/o error status of "0xc000020c"

    Now, that one looks like a physical memory issue, right?

    Oh and by the way, I'm also switching his network drop today too just to see if that helps.
  17. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    I don't know if this would be helpful, but here is the Dr. Watson dump file (well, part of it):

    Application exception occurred:
    App: I:\Power105\GOLD_32\gold_32.exe (pid=3980)
    When: 7/19/2007 @ 17:30:37.540
    Exception number: c0000006 (in page io error)

    *----> System Information <----*
    Computer Name: XXXXX
    User Name: XXXXX
    Terminal Session Id: 0
    Number of Processors: 2
    Processor Type: x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 9
    Windows Version: 5.1
    Current Build: 2600
    Service Pack: 2
    Current Type: Multiprocessor Free
    Registered Organization: XXXXX
    Registered Owner: XXXXX

    *----> Task List <----*
    0 System Process
    4 System
    572 smss.exe
    620 csrss.exe
    644 winlogon.exe
    688 services.exe
    700 lsass.exe
    904 svchost.exe
    972 svchost.exe
    1068 svchost.exe
    1184 svchost.exe
    1268 svchost.exe
    1456 spoolsv.exe
    1692 svchost.exe
    1716 MDM.EXE
    156 WinVNC4.exe
    200 WMPNetwk.exe
    284 CcmExec.exe
    1584 Explorer.EXE
    1868 smax4pnp.exe
    1900 hkcmd.exe
    1912 igfxpers.exe
    416 Connect.exe
    2728 alg.exe
    3076 wmiprvse.exe
    3424 wmiprvse.exe
    2816 tmlisten.exe
    2928 ntrtscan.exe
    2668 HS9FDB.EXE
    2392 OfcPfwSvc.exe
    3556 pccntmon.exe
    3688 OUTLOOK.EXE
    3896 WINWORD.EXE
    3980 gold_32.exe
    2304 pcsws.exe
    3948 PCSCM.EXE
    1044 EXCEL.EXE
    4048 iexplore.exe
    3148 drwtsn32.exe

    *----> Module List <----*
    (0000000000320000 - 000000000039f000: I:\Power105\libjcc.dll
    (00000000003a0000 - 00000000003d4000: I:\Power105\libjutils.dll
    (0000000000f40000 - 000000000128b000: I:\Power105\pbdwe105.dll
    (0000000001310000 - 0000000001317000: C:\Program Files\Lotus\Sametime Client\autoaway.dll
    (0000000001320000 - 000000000132c000: c:\sybase\OCS-12_0\dll\libcs.dll
    (0000000001330000 - 0000000001339000: c:\sybase\OCS-12_0\dll\libintl.dll
    (0000000001340000 - 0000000001389000: c:\sybase\OCS-12_0\dll\libcomn.dll
    (0000000001390000 - 00000000013db000: c:\sybase\OCS-12_0\dll\libct.dll
    (00000000013e0000 - 00000000013fa000: c:\sybase\OCS-12_0\dll\libtcl.dll
    (0000000001800000 - 0000000001805000: c:\sybase\OCS-12_0\dll\nlwnsck.dll
    (0000000001810000 - 0000000001815000: c:\sybase\OCS-12_0\dll\nlmsnmp.dll
    (0000000010000000 - 0000000010009000: I:\Power105\GOLD_32\gold_32.exe
    (0000000010b00000 - 0000000010c50000: I:\Power105\PBSHR105.dll
    (0000000010ec0000 - 0000000010f24000: I:\Power105\pbSYC105.dll
    (00000000114e0000 - 00000000118b0000: I:\Power105\PBVM105.dll
    (0000000020000000 - 00000000202c5000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\xpsp2res.dll
    (000000004ec50000 - 000000004edf3000: C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_Microsoft.Windows.GdiPlus_6595b64144ccf1df_1.0.2600.2180_x-ww_522f9f82\gdiplus.dll
    (000000005ad70000 - 000000005ada8000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\UxTheme.dll
    (000000005d090000 - 000000005d12a000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\COMCTL32.dll
    (000000005edd0000 - 000000005ede7000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\OLEPRO32.DLL
    (00000000662b0000 - 0000000066308000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\hnetcfg.dll
    (0000000071a50000 - 0000000071a8f000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\mswsock.dll
    (0000000071a90000 - 0000000071a98000: C:\WINDOWS\System32\wshtcpip.dll
    (0000000071aa0000 - 0000000071aa8000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WS2HELP.dll
    (0000000071ab0000 - 0000000071ac7000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WS2_32.dll
    (0000000071ad0000 - 0000000071ad9000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WSOCK32.dll
    (0000000073000000 - 0000000073026000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WINSPOOL.DRV
    (0000000076380000 - 0000000076385000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\MSIMG32.dll
    (00000000763b0000 - 00000000763f9000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\comdlg32.dll
    (00000000767a0000 - 00000000767d6000: C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\UNIDRVUI.DLL
    (00000000767e0000 - 0000000076825000: C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\UNIDRV.DLL
    (0000000076f20000 - 0000000076f47000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DNSAPI.dll
    (0000000076f60000 - 0000000076f8c000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\WLDAP32.dll
    (0000000076fb0000 - 0000000076fb8000: C:\WINDOWS\System32\winrnr.dll
    (0000000076fc0000 - 0000000076fc6000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\rasadhlp.dll
    (0000000076fd0000 - 000000007704f000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\CLBCATQ.DLL
    (0000000077050000 - 0000000077115000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\COMRes.dll
    (0000000077120000 - 00000000771ac000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\OLEAUT32.dll
    (00000000773d0000 - 00000000774d3000: C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_Microsoft.Windows.Common-Controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.2600.2982_x-ww_ac3f9c03\comctl32.dll
    (00000000774e0000 - 000000007761d000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ole32.dll
    (0000000077b40000 - 0000000077b62000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Apphelp.dll
    (0000000077c00000 - 0000000077c08000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\VERSION.dll
    (0000000077c10000 - 0000000077c68000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\msvcrt.dll
    (0000000077dd0000 - 0000000077e6b000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ADVAPI32.dll
    (0000000077e70000 - 0000000077f01000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\RPCRT4.dll
    (0000000077f10000 - 0000000077f57000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\GDI32.dll
    (0000000077f60000 - 0000000077fd6000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\SHLWAPI.dll
    (0000000077fe0000 - 0000000077ff1000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Secur32.dll
    (000000007c120000 - 000000007c139000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ATL71.DLL
    (000000007c340000 - 000000007c396000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\MSVCR71.dll
    (000000007c3a0000 - 000000007c41b000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\MSVCP71.dll
    (000000007c800000 - 000000007c8f5000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\kernel32.dll
    (000000007c900000 - 000000007c9b0000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntdll.dll
    (000000007c9c0000 - 000000007d1d5000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\SHELL32.dll
    (000000007df70000 - 000000007df92000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\oledlg.dll
    (000000007e410000 - 000000007e4a0000: C:\WINDOWS\system32\USER32.dll

    *----> State Dump for Thread Id 0xf90 <----*

    eax=00bf76d8 ebx=00b8ca9c ecx=00ac8948 edx=00bf76d8 esi=00bf76d8 edi=00000001
    eip=1164aa90 esp=0012eba4 ebp=0012ebf0 iopl=0 nv up ei pl zr na po nc
    cs=001b ss=0023 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=003b gs=0000 efl=00000246

    function: PBVM105
    No prior disassembly possible
    1164aa90 ?? ???
    1164aa92 ?? ???
    1164aa94 ?? ???
    1164aa96 ?? ???
    1164aa98 ?? ???
    1164aa9a ?? ???
    1164aa9c ?? ???
    1164aa9e ?? ???
    1164aaa0 ?? ???
    FAULT ->1164aa90 ?? ???
    Error 0x00000001
    1164aa92 ?? ???
    1164aa94 ?? ???
    1164aa96 ?? ???
    1164aa98 ?? ???
    1164aa9a ?? ???
    1164aa9c ?? ???
    1164aa9e ?? ???
    1164aaa0 ?? ???
    1164aaa2 ?? ???
    1164aaa4 ?? ???

    *----> Stack Back Trace <----*
    WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
    ChildEBP RetAddr Args to Child
    0012eba0 115cd76f 00bf76d8 00ac8948 1161a04b PBVM105+0x16aa90
    0012ebf0 115ca7ae 00bf76d8 0378ef20 00000000 PBVM105+0xed76f
    0012ec54 1161b0fc 00bf76d8 00000001 00000001 PBVM105+0xea7ae
    00b1c188 115ca5f0 009ea120 00000000 009ea150 PBVM105+0x13b0fc
    009ea0f0 000045d8 00006ac8 00003a8e 00000046 PBVM105+0xea5f0

    *----> Raw Stack Dump <----*
    000000000012eba4 6f d7 5c 11 d8 76 bf 00 - 48 89 ac 00 4b a0 61 11 o.\..v..H...K.a.
    000000000012ebb4 dc 08 be 10 68 73 bf 00 - 00 00 00 00 d8 76 bf 00 ....hs.......v..
    000000000012ebc4 9c ca b8 00 09 00 00 00 - 54 ec 12 00 00 00 00 00 ........T.......
    000000000012ebd4 00 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 - ff ff 00 00 00 00 bf 00 ................
    000000000012ebe4 20 00 00 00 5e 8a b9 10 - 09 00 00 00 54 ec 12 00 ...^.......T...
    000000000012ebf4 ae a7 5c 11 d8 76 bf 00 - 20 ef 78 03 00 00 00 00 ..\..v.. .x.....
    000000000012ec04 48 89 ac 00 2c ec 12 00 - 88 c1 b1 00 9c ca b8 00 H...,...........
    000000000012ec14 c3 59 65 11 00 00 00 00 - ff ff ff ff 30 ec 12 00 .Ye.........0...
    000000000012ec24 48 89 ac 00 d8 76 bf 00 - 00 00 00 00 20 ef 78 03 H....v...... .x.
    000000000012ec34 00 00 00 00 01 1d 08 00 - 74 f8 b9 03 88 c1 b1 00 ........t.......
    000000000012ec44 00 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 - d8 76 bf 00 74 f8 b9 03 .........v..t...
    000000000012ec54 88 c1 b1 00 fc b0 61 11 - d8 76 bf 00 01 00 00 00 ......a..v......
    000000000012ec64 01 00 00 00 d8 76 bf 00 - c4 00 00 00 24 75 8c 03 .....v......$u..
    000000000012ec74 d0 10 bb 00 82 40 00 00 - 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 .....@..........
    000000000012ec84 48 89 ac 00 88 c1 b1 00 - 02 00 00 00 e8 82 ac 00 H...............
    000000000012ec94 00 00 00 00 24 75 8c 03 - 39 ac 61 11 00 00 00 00 ....$u..9.a.....
    000000000012eca4 74 f8 b9 03 c4 00 00 00 - 9c ca b8 00 00 00 00 00 t...............
    000000000012ecb4 01 00 00 00 74 f8 b9 03 - 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ....t...........
    000000000012ecc4 74 ed 12 00 01 00 00 00 - d8 76 bf 00 74 f8 b9 03 t........v..t...
    000000000012ecd4 00 00 00 00 5e 8a b9 10 - 50 00 00 00 fc 09 c1 10 ....^...P.......

    *----> State Dump for Thread Id 0x2c0 <----*

    eax=01419000 ebx=015ffeac ecx=015ffc68 edx=00001000 esi=00000000 edi=7ffdf000
    eip=7c90eb94 esp=015ffe84 ebp=015fff20 iopl=0 nv up ei pl zr na po nc
    cs=001b ss=0023 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=003b gs=0000 efl=00000246
  18. delnico

    delnico Newcomer, in training

    Hello,

    I have the same problem : a application that I built in VB6 (very simple : only calculus and then it writes the results in database SQL) works perfectly on the worsktations (XP) but when I run it on the servers (we have 2 servers and the problem happens on both of them, O/S Windows 2003 server) with the admin account I have the same message that you have.
    This message happens at a random moment (the application is Ok during several hours or few days and sudenly the message).

    I tried to create the .exe from the server or from a workstation > it's the same problem.

    I will try to run it with another login account and i will let u know about it.

    Do you think that it the solution can be in
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management] ?
    On the workstations "LargeSystemCache" is 0, and on the servers it is 1... it is just a question i am not a specialist

    I will let you know if I have news
  19. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Application exception occurred:
    App: I:\Power105\GOLD_32\gold_32.exe (pid=3980)
    When: 7/19/2007 @ 17:30:37.540
    Exception number: c0000006 (in page io error) <-- I/O error at windows paging data.

    Probably the paging space is corrupted or hardware error of the hard disk. Re-allocate the paging space and run chkdsk /r. Run hardware diagnostic against your hard disk
  20. delnico

    delnico Newcomer, in training

    0xc000020c & 0xC0000006 > connection or bug in windows ?

    When I have this message (the required data was not placed into memory because of an i/o error status of "0xc000020c") a MsgBox tells me "Ok to Debug or Cancel to terminate the program" > I click Ok I have the C++ debugger (Disassembly). Then when I try step by step the debugger stops with this message : "Unhandled exception in MyProgram.exe : 0xC0000006 : In Page Error ." and the context is "NTDLL".

    So I searched on the web the NTDLL error messages and found this web page with all the error in ntdll and their signification :

    http://cvs.winehq.com/cvsweb/wine/dlls/ntdll/error.c?rev=1.11


    Well you can see that 0xc000020c error is "STATUS_CONNECTION_DISCONNECTED" ("ERROR_NETNAME_DELETED").

    Then I searched on the web for "ERROR_NETNAME_DELETED" and finaly foud this very interesting article :

    http://www.dbforums.com/showthread.php?t=626869


    It seems that Tmagic650 was right : it is a problem with connection (cards, drivers...) or a bug in windows but not a bug in the program !


    So I'm gonna put my programs on the drive C of my server and stop using Terminal Server to run them and see if it works Ok from the console.

    ned4spd8874, have you switch the network drop as you said ?

    Regards
  21. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    To make a long story short....I've been off for a while and am in a different location now. However, this same user is still getting these error messages on a regular basis. The user has since been given a new laptop and a new office on the other side of the building. If anyone has any more thoughts on this, I would really appreciate any more input.
  22. delnico

    delnico Newcomer, in training

    I did exactly what i said : now i copy the .exe on the drive C of the server and the sql database is on the same server : i don't have this error message any more... so it is clear that it is a problem due to windows and/or the network.
    I think that when you run a .exe file located in the network, windows tries to check the connectivity to the location (it appears that it happens when the program gets out of a "sub", generly in the "main" sub) ; and if you 've had - even during one second -, while running, a disconnection to the network, well ntdll sends this error message when trying to check the location. Maybe for security reasons ? I really don't know.
  23. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Interesting. The way things work around here, there is no way we can run this on the server.

    But the interesting thing about our situation is that we have hundreds of users using this program in 4 different locations. And this one guy is the only one that is getting these errors.
  24. daengh

    daengh Newcomer, in training

    Sorry, late to the party.

    You'd mentioned that this person has multiple copies of the app installed. Are they installed locally or on a network store? I noticed Powerbuilder runtimes in the stack trace you posted earlier & they're on an "I" drive.

    Application exception occurred:
    App: I:\Power105\GOLD_32\gold_32.exe (pid=3980)
    When: 7/19/2007 @ 17:30:37.540
    Exception number: c0000006 (in page io error)
    [deleted]

    *----> Module List <----*
    (0000000000320000 - 000000000039f000: I:\Power105\libjcc.dll
    (00000000003a0000 - 00000000003d4000: I:\Power105\libjutils.dll
    (0000000000f40000 - 000000000128b000: I:\Power105\pbdwe105.dll
    [deleted]
    (0000000010000000 - 0000000010009000: I:\Power105\GOLD_32\gold_32.exe
    (0000000010b00000 - 0000000010c50000: I:\Power105\PBSHR105.dll
    (0000000010ec0000 - 0000000010f24000: I:\Power105\pbSYC105.dll
    (00000000114e0000 - 00000000118b0000: I:\Power105\PBVM105.dll
    [deleted]

    PowerBuilder is semi-notorious for locking files during runtime; installing apps on network shares can be problematic for that reason.

    Does this 'power user' have a copy installed locally? It may be that the local copy, particularly if the location was added to the system path, is interfering with the network copy OR that the network copy is just locked when he gets to it.

    If both copies are running at the same time or are using the same path to the runtimes, that could very well be problematic.
  25. ned4spd8874

    ned4spd8874 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Thanks for the reply. We only allow this program to run from the network. There is no local installation of this program. The only thing that is even remotely local is the install of Sybase. But, again, everyone else is setup the same exact way.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.