Keyboard mute/volume freezing XP

Status
Not open for further replies.
Weird stuff going on here. I am a tech by trade and this just has me baffled. Im looking for soem feedback on things I might be leaving out.

Problem: When hitting the mute button or using the volume dial on my keyboard Windows XP Professional locks up.

Things tried: New sound card drivers, new keyboard drivers, new keyboard with different volume controls and mute. All the drivers for the mainboard are up to date.

This just started happening one day and it has me absolutely baffled.

spanspace said:
This just started happening one day and it has me absolutely baffled.
I know this is an obvious thing to say,but are you totally certain you didn`t install/uninstall/update any software/hardware just before the problem started.Has the OS had any updates in the last few days ? If you get really desperate,don`t forget system restore.It works 40% of the time.

What's the make and model of the keyboard?

What's the make and model of the keyboard?
Any drivers for it or you're using the original Microsoft drivers?
Is it connected throught PS/2 or USB port?
Wired or wireless?
The other keyboards tried... did they cause your PC to freeze as well?

Logitech Elite USB
Saitek Esclise USB

Both keyboards tried USB first and locked up pc when using mute and volume controls. Tried both as ps2 with adapter as well. Nothing has been updated. It started happening randomly one day. My only guess is something is corrupt and I have no clue what. All drivers are redone and up to date since yesterday. I even went as far as to update the bios.

Im going to try removing the keyboard extention tonight and see if I have a short in the cable somewhere. Outside of a reload of XP im not sure what to do.

Keyboard extention isnt it. I ruled out the keyboard since the other keyboard did it as well. Is there anything that I can look at after a reboot to see if there was conflicts?