TechSpot

Laptop system error. ID1003 BSOD

By ender694
Jan 12, 2008
  1. hey. i am also getting the BSOD with an ecent ID of 1003. this is happening on a 1 year old AlienWare laptop.

    i have already:
    -replaced hard drive
    -tested ram (seems fine)
    -reinstalled OS 3 times.

    not sure what else to do.

    if you anyone could help. would be great. here is 3 minidumps.
     
  2. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    what firewall are you using?
     
  3. ender694

    ender694 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    um.. normal Windows XP one. why?? think that could be causing a problem?? i blue screen mostly when i am watching a dvd. or any time i try to play/install a game.
     
  4. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    it was just a thought because there are some more threads regarding this event id and most of them were related to firewall(s) especially 'outpost' firewall.

    in the latest dump file I read this:
    STOP: 0x0000009C (0x00000004,0x80545FF0,0xB2000010,0x00010C0F)
    and STOP: 0x0000009C according to microsoft means that the processor detected a hardware error and reported to windows using machine check exception.
    I recommend you to download some tools (e.g. ultimate boot cd for windows) and check your memory, hdd. also try updating all drivers, especially video card, audio, chipset.
     
  5. ender694

    ender694 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    i already checked my ram (using memtest86 or something like that) and it all passed. let it do about 20 scan throughs. got a brand new hdd and have the same issues. i just disabled my firewall and am finishing updateing my videocard. chipset. and audio right now.
     
  6. ender694

    ender694 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    ok. i have finished updating my videocard. chipset. and audio. i am still getting the BSOD
     
  7. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    yeah and you still getting the STOP: 0x0000009C error. can you please double check what the bsod say when you get it? there should be an error code in the second or third line.

    edit:

    have this out of the debugger and it says "driver fault":

    BugCheck 9C, {4, 805461f0, b2000010, 10c0f}



    Probably caused by : Unknown_Image ( ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE )

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------

    kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    * *
    * Bugcheck Analysis *
    * *
    *******************************************************************************

    MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION (9c)
    A fatal Machine Check Exception has occurred.
    KeBugCheckEx parameters;
    x86 Processors
    If the processor has ONLY MCE feature available (For example Intel
    Pentium), the parameters are:
    1 - Low 32 bits of P5_MC_TYPE MSR
    2 - Address of MCA_EXCEPTION structure
    3 - High 32 bits of P5_MC_ADDR MSR
    4 - Low 32 bits of P5_MC_ADDR MSR
    If the processor also has MCA feature available (For example Intel
    Pentium Pro), the parameters are:
    1 - Bank number
    2 - Address of MCA_EXCEPTION structure
    3 - High 32 bits of MCi_STATUS MSR for the MCA bank that had the error
    4 - Low 32 bits of MCi_STATUS MSR for the MCA bank that had the error
    IA64 Processors
    1 - Bugcheck Type
    1 - MCA_ASSERT
    2 - MCA_GET_STATEINFO
    SAL returned an error for SAL_GET_STATEINFO while processing MCA.
    3 - MCA_CLEAR_STATEINFO
    SAL returned an error for SAL_CLEAR_STATEINFO while processing MCA.
    4 - MCA_FATAL
    FW reported a fatal MCA.
    5 - MCA_NONFATAL
    SAL reported a recoverable MCA and we don't support currently
    support recovery or SAL generated an MCA and then couldn't
    produce an error record.
    0xB - INIT_ASSERT
    0xC - INIT_GET_STATEINFO
    SAL returned an error for SAL_GET_STATEINFO while processing INIT event.
    0xD - INIT_CLEAR_STATEINFO
    SAL returned an error for SAL_CLEAR_STATEINFO while processing INIT event.
    0xE - INIT_FATAL
    Not used.
    2 - Address of log
    3 - Size of log
    4 - Error code in the case of x_GET_STATEINFO or x_CLEAR_STATEINFO
    AMD64 Processors
    1 - Bank number
    2 - Address of MCA_EXCEPTION structure
    3 - High 32 bits of MCi_STATUS MSR for the MCA bank that had the error
    4 - Low 32 bits of MCi_STATUS MSR for the MCA bank that had the error
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 00000004
    Arg2: 805461f0
    Arg3: b2000010
    Arg4: 00010c0f

    Debugging Details:
    ------------------

    NOTE: This is a hardware error. This error was reported by the CPU
    via Interrupt 18. This analysis will provide more information about
    the specific error. Please contact the manufacturer for additional
    information about this error and troubleshooting assistance.

    This error is documented in the following publication:

    - Bios and Kernel Developers Guid for AMD Athlon(r) 64 and AMD Opteron(r) Processors
    Bit Mask:

    MA Model Specific MCA
    O ID Other Information Error Code Error Code
    VV SDP ___________|____________ _______|_______ _______|______
    AEUECRC| | | |
    LRCNVVC| | | |
    ^^^^^^^| | | |
    6 5 4 3 2 1
    3210987654321098765432109876543210987654321098765432109876543210
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    1011001000000000000000000001000000000000000000010000110000001111


    VAL - MCi_STATUS register is valid
    Indicates that the information contained within the IA32_MCi_STATUS
    register is valid. When this flag is set, the processor follows the
    rules given for the OVER flag in the IA32_MCi_STATUS register when
    overwriting previously valid entries. The processor sets the VAL
    flag and software is responsible for clearing it.

    UC - Error Uncorrected
    Indicates that the processor did not or was not able to correct the
    error condition. When clear, this flag indicates that the processor
    was able to correct the error condition.

    EN - Error Enabled
    Indicates that the error was enabled by the associated EEj bit of the
    IA32_MCi_CTL register.

    PCC - Processor Context Corrupt
    Indicates that the state of the processor might have been corrupted
    by the error condition detected and that reliable restarting of the
    processor may not be possible.

    BUSCONNERR - Bus and Interconnect Error BUS{LL}_{PP}_{RRRR}_{II}_{T}_err
    These errors match the format 0000 1PPT RRRR IILL



    Concatenated Error Code:
    --------------------------
    _VAL_UC_EN_PCC_BUSCONNERR_F

    This error code can be reported back to the manufacturer.
    They may be able to provide additional information based upon
    this error. All questions regarding STOP 0x9C should be
    directed to the hardware manufacturer.



    BUGCHECK_STR: 0x9C_AuthenticAMD

    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: DRIVER_FAULT

    PROCESS_NAME: Idle

    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 806d38df to 804f8aef

    STACK_TEXT:
    805461c8 806d38df 0000009c 00000004 805461f0 nt!KeBugCheckEx+0x1b
    805462f4 806cec2e 80042000 00000000 00000000 hal!HalpMcaExceptionHandler+0xdd
    805462f4 00000000 80042000 00000000 00000000 hal!HalpMcaExceptionHandlerWrapper+0x46


    STACK_COMMAND: kb

    SYMBOL_NAME: ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE

    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

    MODULE_NAME: Unknown_Module

    IMAGE_NAME: Unknown_Image

    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0

    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0x9C_AuthenticAMD_ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE

    BUCKET_ID: 0x9C_AuthenticAMD_ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE
     
  8. ender694

    ender694 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    even when i set my computer to not auto restart when it blue screens. it still does. my computer has also been blue screening on start up. because i am over seas. do you think that using non-american power on an american power supply could be affecting it? cause the only thing i had changed before the blue screens started was using a new converted (american - Israeli)
     
  9. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    not sure about that but maybe power fluctuations make the laptop unstable. does this also happen when you work with battery only?
     
  10. ender694

    ender694 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    actually. ever since i moved from USA. the power here only seems to give me about a 9min charge. even though the battery says it is 100% charged....
     
  11. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    that would mean it is not enough power. hopefully you don't kill your battery with that. you could try a different converter or if possible an israeli power supply for the same type of notebook.
     
     
  12. ender694

    ender694 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    well my problem is that it is an Alienware laptop...what would be a mainstream comperable one??
     
  13. mscrx

    mscrx TS Rookie Posts: 829

    authorized dealers in Israel: www.Alienware.co.il
    I donno but asking them will maybe get you an original alienware power supply that works in Israel. also you could ask them for advice on your problem.
    I am pretty sure from what you telling me but who knows.

    good luck anyway!
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.