Lexmark T614 Networking

Status
Not open for further replies.
I cannot get the printer to network. I have run an Ethernet cable from a switch connected to my router, and I have DHCP setup (I think) on the printer, but nothing shows up in the DHCP table of the router. This is my first time at a 'real' networked printer (as opposed to just sharing one) and I have no expertise. Any suggestions? I figured the router would recognize the printer, assign an IP and we'd go from there, but nothing....????? :(

I'm in XP, BTW.

Thanks for any help.

Did you restart the printer after you connected the network cable? Do you have a link light on the router showing that the printer is connected?

Usually such network devices come with a utility that works on the ethernet level and allows you to configure the thing even if you don't have a DHCP server on your network. Rummage through the printer CDs and see if you find one.

Thanks for the reply. I got the printer at a state surplus store, so while it works, there's nothing that came with it. I've attempted to get utilities from the Lexmark site, but I haven't hit upon anything that has the magic combination of a) making sense to me and b) working. The info seems to be geared to the IT professional who already has a good knowledge of such things and skips a lot that a consumer might need.

Yes, I've had the printer power cycled numberous times and yes, the lights on the switch show a device connected as well as the light on the NIC in printer showing up. I'm hoping that the NIC in the printer is good, but so far have no way of knowing how to verify that short of swapping parts, which I don't have.

I'm thinking that the printer possibly has a built-in print server (or is that a given that I don't realize?) that would need to be configured. I can manually assign it an IP address from the LCD screen on the printer, but still nothing shows up on the router.