Linux Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello!

I recently installed Linux Redhat 8.0(pysche) onto a modified box I put together. That may be part of my problem, but I'll get there in a minute.

I'm a linux newbie, having only messed around with my new system for a little while. Everything appears to be ok, except I can't start X, and thus can't start KDE, Gnome, or other nice-looking programs like that.

Whenever I try to startx, I get the message:

(EE) No Devices detected.

and then later:

Fatal Server Error: No screens found.

Now, I don't have the exact logs onto my pc yet, but I could supply those if neccesary. Right now I'm just wondering what 's wrong. I've looked at the XF86Config file, modified it (after backing it up), and still have absolutely no idea what to do. It appears that X can't redognize my video card, but I don't know how to tell it where it is, nor can I thell where it is from looking at the innard of my computer! Can I, and How can I probe for the location? Please help, I'm trying to climb the everest of linux-- because it's there.

You have a misconfigured X Server. Although you don't really need to, as a newbie it would be a good idea if you reinstalled Linux again, this time test the Windows configuration (during stage where you picked no of colors and resolution, etc) and make sure that it works before progressing. You can further tweak it when X Windows is properly up and running.

Try settings for your Graphics card like "generic" or "standard", and also for the montor settings as well if that's not being detected properly.

What make and model is your graphics card? (apologies if you have said and I have missed it...)

If possible, upgrade to Red Hat 9 which is a lot better for first timers with this sort of thing, where you will be a lot more likely to get everything working with less intervention.