Lite-On LTR-24102B can't read disc

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first time on any forum, so please excuse my ignorance on any issues etc.

Am I on the right forum?

My CD-RW Drive (D:) doesn’t seem able to read. The disc stays in the drive for less than 30 seconds, the green light remains on and it is then rejected.

I have looked through the forums and have as a consequence checked that the driver is up to date. I have uninstalled the driver and when the system re-booted it was re-installed. I have bought and used a wet system lens cleaner. None of this seems to make any difference.

It was working 2 days ago, playing audio and burning. The last thing that worked was burning an album from iTunes directly onto the drive. I had previously erased the disc of back up data using Nero, which was also open when I burned using iTunes.

Properties informs me that “the device is working properly” Nero says no disc inserted whilst the green drive light is on before the disc is ejected.

What more can I do? Help!

I would shut down system remove drive ,reboot system then reinstall drive ...if this doesnt work 2 more alternatives to try one is put another drive in let it load drivers for it then shut down removing it then putting back in the lite-on 24102b and load drivers .... I have had several lite-on drives and notice conflicks from nero but new drivers alone didnt fix but swapping out cd rom's then back to the one i wanted fixed it....seems like a lot of work ...but hey it worked for me.

There is no drive for that device.
Optical drives fail frequently, depending on use. The lasers burn out like light bulbs burn out. The drives are powered by either a drive wheel or a belt. One of those could have slipped off.
But if the drive is more than a year old, it is worn out. If it is less than a year old, it is probably at the end of its useful product life due to over use.