Low Fps In Games Using Direct3d

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wasper

Before I start off with my problem I would like to say Hi to everyone on this forum. This is my first time on here.

Alright.. now onto the problem. I am getting extremely low frame rate in any game that uses Direct3D. My frame rate varies throughout the game , and it is very unstable.In many parts of any game my frame rate comes to a crawl dropping down to 10 - 20 fps. My frame rate drop is even worst especially in heavy action. I've tried lowering resolution , details , texture ect... but no luck at all. Any game that uses OpenGL will run perfectly at highest res and highest settings possible.

I have a:

AMD Althlon 2000+
512 DDR RAM
Geforce 3 Ti500
Windows XP PRO

I have the latest DirectX version (8.1 ver 4.08.01.0810) I have tried reinstalling DirectX but had no luck in doing so.
I believe it is a problem in one of the settings... but I have no clue what it is... help would really be appreciated.

Hi Wasper,

I'm new here too & this looks to be a very informative board. Lots of great tech posts. So welcome from a fellow newcomer. :D

I notice you are still on & I'm no 'expert' but maybe I can help or get some more info from you for others to help. ;)

Are you using DX8 w/TnL Hardware in these games, or just DX8? Which particular games? Do you have the latest BIOS? Are you running any 'overclock' programs on the card? Who made the card? What driver are you using?

Suggestions: Try TnL if you haven't, check for updated BIOS, update the video driver to nVidia 28.32 & insure the card is staying cool. :)

HTH,

Yes I have tried T&L but it makes no difference. I have a Visontek Xtasy 6964 Geforce 3 Ti500 I am using Drivers 2.3.1.2.
I am not sure what BIOs version , how do I check that?
No I am not running any overclock programs.