Missing/corrupt file help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

stevee10001

Hi i am in need of help asap i might even send £10 or equiv in $ if my laptop gets back to working order.

I have a dell inspirion 1501 and i had to replace the hard drive recently once i had got it plugged in and connected to internet (which took a bit of time) i went to download the windows updates and by doing so it told me to restart. when it restarted i got an error message saying this file was missing or corrupt windows root sytem32 ntoskrnl.exe
Now i have searched for a thread like this and found one (https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic74955.html)
but the i got to the command he told me to enter and it said it could not find it.

I would desperatly like some help on this as it is getting really frustrating now. plus i refuse to pay the extortionate price the dell people would make me pay to help (out of warranty). So feel free post but just beware that i am an absolute novice at this so if the advice came simplyfied would be great.
many thanks steve

You have to reload your operating system. Do you have your original OEM Operating System CD that came with the system?

If so, put the OS CD in the CD drive and boot from it and go through to the second repair option. The first option that comes up to do a repair is the recovery console. Press Enter when you get here. If when it gets past that, you have the optioni to repair your existing load, do that, if not, you will have to load a new copy. If you have data you want to save, you will have to pulll the drive out, hook it to a USB port on another computer (you can purchase a connector) and copy the files you want to save.

Tracy

Hi i am in need of help asap i might even send £10 or equiv in $ if my laptop gets back to working order.
All support members at TechSpot work voluntarily.

If not, send me an email through the forums and I will help.
Tracy
All support is freely given on the public forums
1. Because it's free!