Mobo recommendation. Narrowed down to 2.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Atwooooood

So after weeks of searching on newegg for the right motherboard, ive settled on 2. Both are Asus boards, one with the p45 chipset and one with the x48.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131319

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131284

I play alot of my games on my 360, but still want a good motherboard capable of playing high end games. This is my first build and i have done alot of research on what i need/dont need and what everything is, but of course for a beginner when it comes to building a rig, i know there are alot of aspects im clueless on.

The only thing about these boards i dont like is it supports crossfire, not sli, but were also one of the few boards i found that seemed reliable according to reviews. After all the horrible reviews for nvidia nforce chipsets, i decided to go with intel.

i plan on running an E8400, 4 gigs ddr2 1066 ram, and nvidia geforce 8800 gtx.

Do these 2 motherboards come down to preference or is there one that you would recommend over another. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Regardless of what you are told here, I recommend you go the the Asus site for each board and look at their forums.

Much can be learned, Grasshopper, from the misfortunes of others.

:)

Don't restrict yourself to that site tho' - Newegg and NCIX both have VERY active posters, especially if a product sucks!

:)

yeah i read through most of the pages of reviews on both motherboards and was liking what i was seeing. small differences in both products. i'll check around different sites.

Over priced....

Both of the boards in my opion are a waiste of money unless you are going to be doing major overclocking and might proove to be a bit "confusing" for the first time builder. They really have no advantage over motherboards half the price other than a lot of extras that most people wont use.