Moving from XP to ubuntu?

Status
Not open for further replies.

e_p_a_k

okay after surviving on a p*ss-*ss slow windows XP 256 RAM 1.6GHz desktop since forever, i've decided to take out the XP and just install ubuntu onto it, since i use it primarily for internet purposes. however, i have a couple hundred GB worth of music, videos, and pictures over there. i only have one hard disk in there, so i'm planning on using gparted to create a separate partition on my HD, dump all my music, videos, and pictures there, wipe everything else, and install ubuntu. will that work? will i still be able to access my files and everything after i do this?

Go for it

I am a Ubuntu novice but can tell you about my experience. I installed 7.10 on an AMD XP3200 with 512mb ram and XP Pro. 1 hard drive with 80gb.
With the Ubuntu partition program (during install) I allotted 50% of the drive to Ubuntu. Installed without a hitch. On reboot received a menu to select the OS I wanted to boot. Can boot to Ubuntu or XP as slick as you please. XP is using NTFS yet I have been able to read files on the windows partition.

In general I'd be backing up anything I didn't want to lose before proceeding. It's just safer that way.

I hope that was helpful or at least encouraging!

With 256MB or RAM, you are better off installing Xubuntu - a lightweight version more suitable for your machine.

You might want a different Linux distro such as Xubuntu, Puppy,or DSL. Getting more RAM might help too...

FenderGuy2112

Depends on What you call the drive....

If you have a drive designated as a "Volume" Ubuntu will read and I believe write to it with XP's NTFS file system. I'm assuming the latest Xubuntu will do the same. < Verify anybody?

Ubuntu is the easiest install, about a dozen clicks. But, they're claiming it needs 384MB of memory for use installed in a desktop.
Unless the copy of XP you have is a retail version , you cannot migrate it to another machine.