TechSpot

Mozilla has finally released a 64-bit version of Firefox to its stable channel

By Shawn Knight
Dec 16, 2015
Post New Reply
  1. It's taken nearly a decade but Mozilla has finally released 64-bit version of Firefox for Windows to its stable channel.

    In its announcement, Mozilla points out that Firefox 64-bit for Windows offers gains in performance for those running 64-bit systems although it also has limited support for plugins by design. As such, users will notice that some sites requiring plugins that work with 32-bit versions of Firefox may not work with the new 64-bit variant.

    As Mozilla has previously stated, it's phasing out support for most NPAPI plugins in Firefox - something it hopes to complete by the end of 2016.

    Mozilla has toyed with the idea of a 64-bit version of Firefox for several years, many of which made it to alpha / beta status. In 2012, however, Mozilla elected to halt 64-bit builds entirely due to negative feedback and a frustrating testing experience. Fortunately, the foundation backtracked (albeit quietly) a few months later and resumed development.

    As Ars Technica points out, Mozilla promised last year that a 64-bit Windows version would reach the stable channel by the end of 2015. Some thought that was going to happen with the release of Firefox 41 back in September but that intelligence proved inaccurate.

    Mozilla did keep its promise in Firefox 43, even if it was with just a couple of weeks to spare. You can pick up the 64-bit version over at our download page.

    Permalink to story.

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2015
  2. VitalyT

    VitalyT Russ-Puss Posts: 3,149   +1,423

    I already have it.

    Shamefully, still no 64-bit Chrome released, only on their Beta channel. May be now Google will finally wake up and release it.
     
  3. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TS Guardian Fighter Posts: 8,549   +2,894

    Which Adblockers are currently available for 64-bit Firefox?
     
  4. Branded

    Branded TS Rookie Posts: 23   +12

    I've been using uBlock Origin for several months on Firefox 64 bit Beta. No problems at all.
     
    cliffordcooley likes this.
  5. Nima304

    Nima304 TS Guru Posts: 365   +81

    64-bit Chrome is a thing, and not in beta. I've been using it for months.
     
    Brotherz and Burty117 like this.
  6. Burty117

    Burty117 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,917   +684

    64-bit chrome has been around for like a year now, I'm pretty sure techspot had an article on it as well.
     
  7. VitalyT

    VitalyT Russ-Puss Posts: 3,149   +1,423

    Really?

    I have always been using the latest released version of Chrome, v47 at the moment, and it's always been 32-bit. And I can't seem to find the 64-bit version on their official Chrome download page.
     
    Skidmarksdeluxe likes this.
  8. Nima304

    Nima304 TS Guru Posts: 365   +81

    https://www.google.com/chrome/browser/desktop/

    Click on "Download Chrome for another platform," and it gives you the option to download the 64-bit copy for Windows 7/8/10.
     
    VitalyT likes this.
  9. VitalyT

    VitalyT Russ-Puss Posts: 3,149   +1,423

    Tried several times now, the installer always throws a window with this message:

    The installer encountered error 0xc0000374.

    So much for a stable release...
     
  10. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TS Guardian Fighter Posts: 8,549   +2,894

    If it wasn't for the fact that I don't want Chrome, I'd download and see if it would install.
     
  11. Nima304

    Nima304 TS Guru Posts: 365   +81

    I've installed it on several computers, never had any issues. Are you uninstalling the old version of Chrome?
     
  12. tonylukac

    tonylukac TS Evangelist Posts: 1,309   +56

    Chrome alway seems to install itself somehow. I may not be roman catholic. 64 bit linux version of firefox? Surprised I was able to find documentation to run 32 bit firefox on slackware linux. Ubuntu, which I'm going into for programming iphone apps with swift, might be more picky. Didn't 64 bit come out in 2003 when xp offered 64 bit? That's when we moved in here.
     
  13. sean peters

    sean peters TS Rookie

    There was a time they are updating firefox like once a day. So I switch to chrome. and it is eating my ram
     
  14. trgz

    trgz TS Booster Posts: 153   +23

    Interesting, I was using Waterfox up until last week when I picked up a cheap copy of Battlefield Hardline whose required game-browser-plugin requires a 32bit browser, so I guess that's a lot of people who will have problems.
     
  15. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,034

    It's still in beta and has been for the past few years. I used it for a while and found nothing to complain about but switched back to 32 bit, I don't like using beta products.
     
  16. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,034

    It's been floating about for longer than that but it's still in beta from what I understand. If you download it from Google themselves you're informed that it's a beta product, at least that was the case when I last checked, about a month ago.
     
  17. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,034

    Me either. It's still in beta according to Google themselves. I used it for a while and found absolutely no difference between it and the 32 bit version and switched back, I'm not keen on anything beta.
     
  18. Burty117

    Burty117 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,917   +684

    When I go to:
    https://www.google.com/chrome/browser/desktop/

    Click on "Download Chrome for another platform"

    I get the option:

    Download for another desktop OS
    So I've created a new virtual machine on my PC to test this, fresh install of Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit.
    It doesn't anywhere say it's a Beta product, Annoyingly I cannot find the Techspot Article but I'm 99% sure there was one earlier in the year that Google have moved the 64-bit version into Stable release, Hence that it literally is on the download page.
     
  19. TitoBXNY

    TitoBXNY TS Addict Posts: 227   +48

    I tried the 64-bit version of Chrome and actually found it to be slower than the 32-bit version. I uninstalled it shortly afterwards.
     
  20. MoeJoe

    MoeJoe TS Maniac Posts: 398   +207

    Why does the 64 bit version install in the x86 construct of Windows ?
    L O L
     
  21. Camikazi

    Camikazi TS Maniac Posts: 816   +231

    Chrome 64 has been a stable (as in not beta) release since around August of 2014.
     
  22. Brotherz

    Brotherz TS Enthusiast Posts: 24

    The 64-bit version of Firefox started in version 42 which I'm installing now.
     
  23. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,034

    I saw it here too and thats when I took it for a spin. It's fine, you can use it, it's no different to the 32 bit version but I'm not a fan of beta software.
     
  24. Skidmarksdeluxe

    Skidmarksdeluxe TS Evangelist Posts: 6,475   +2,034

    It may be stable but it's still in beta according to the Google Chrome website.
     
  25. Burty117

    Burty117 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,917   +684

    Well No, here's the beta:
    https://www.google.co.uk/chrome/browser/beta.html

    I can't see anywhere that says the official release Channel version:
    https://www.google.com/chrome/browser/desktop/

    Is a beta? Unless I'm missing something? I'll install the Beta onto a virtual machine and check the version numbers, see if they're different.
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...