Multiple processes iexplore with browser closed

By mmontore
Jul 5, 2010
  1. iexplore appears multiple times in process list even though browser has not been opened. Occasionally a browser window will also appear or a pop-up. At least one browser window mentions arcadelevels . com. I have followed the 8 steps and will attach logs. However after gmer ran the first time, the computer shut down I think with an lsass.exe Application Error message. The app failed to initialize properly. When i reran gmer, it said nothing was found. I would appreciate any help I can get. Thanks.

    I have run avast as well.

    Attached Files:

  2. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Download Bootkit Remover to your Desktop.

    • You then need to extract the remover.exe file from the RAR using a program capable of extracing RAR compressed files. If you don't have an extraction program, you can use 7-Zip:
    • After extracing remover.exe to your Desktop, double-click on remover.exe to run the program (Vista/7 users,right click on remover.exe and click Run As Administrator.
    • It will show a Black screen with some data on it.
    • Right click on the screen and click Select All.
    • Press CTRL+C
    • Open a Notepad and press CTRL+V
    • Post the output back here.
  3. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    output of bootkit remover

    Bootkit Remover version
    (c) 2009 eSage Lab

    \\.\C: -> \\.\PhysicalDrive0
    MD5: aac7d8a98e39dfde27285ef395e66821

    Size Device Name MBR Status
    74 GB \\.\PhysicalDrive0 Unknown boot code

    Unknown boot code has been found on some of your physical disks.
    To inspect the boot code manually, dump the master boot sector:
    remover.exe dump <device_name> [output_file]
    To disinfect the master boot sector, use the following command:
    remover.exe fix <device_name>

    Press any key to quit...
  4. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Open Notepad
    Copy and paste following text into Notepad:
    START remover.exe fix \\.\PhysicalDrive0
    Go FILE > SAVE AS and in the dropdown box select SAVE AS TYPE to ALL FILES
    Then in the FILE NAME box type fix.bat.
    Save fix.bat to your Desktop.

    Run fix.bat by double clicking.
    You may see a black box appear; this is normal.

    When done, run remover.exe again and post its output.
  5. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Bootkit Remover version
    (c) 2009 eSage Lab

    \\.\C: -> \\.\PhysicalDrive0
    MD5: 6def5ffcbcdbdb4082f1015625e597bd

    Size Device Name MBR Status
    74 GB \\.\PhysicalDrive0 OK (DOS/Win32 Boot code found)

    Press any key to quit...

    Does this mean it's fixed?
  6. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Is redirection gone?

    Please download ComboFix from Here or Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: In the event you already have Combofix, this is a new version that I need you to download. It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop**
    1. Please, never rename Combofix unless instructed.
    2. Close any open browsers.
    3. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.
      • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus, script blocking and any anti-malware real-time protection before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results".
      • Click on this link to see a list of programs that should be disabled. The list is not all inclusive. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
      NOTE1. If Combofix asks you to install Recovery Console, please allow it.
      NOTE 2. If Combofix asks you to update the program, always do so.
      • Close any open browsers.
      • WARNING: Combofix will disconnect your machine from the Internet as soon as it starts
      • Please do not attempt to re-connect your machine back to the Internet until Combofix has completely finished.
      • If there is no internet connection after running Combofix, then restart your computer to restore back your connection.
    4. Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.
    5. When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    6. Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt"
    **Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall**

    Make sure, you re-enable your security programs, when you're done with Combofix.

    DO NOT make any other changes to your computer (like installing programs, using other cleaning tools, etc.), until it's officially declared clean!!!
  7. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    not quite there


    Still happening - maybe you weren't done with me yet?
  8. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Please, continue with my previous reply.
  9. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    not sure about script-blocking

    Will you explain how to make sure that I disable script-blocking?
  10. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    One more question. Do you still have multiple iexplore.exe listed running?

    As for script blocking....

    1. If you use Spybot...
    Disable TeaTimer, as it'll interfere with the cleaning process:
    Right click Spybot's TeaTimer System Tray Icon.
    Click Exit Spybot-S&D Resident.
    TeaTimer closes.
    NOTE. If on re-boot, Spybot inquires about registry change(s), allow it.

    Alternatively, I suggest, you uninstall Spybot since it's a tool of the past.

    2. If you use Windows Defender...
    Disable Windows Defender, as it'll interfere with cleaning process:
    - Open Windows Defender by clicking the Start, clicking All Programs, and then clicking Windows Defender.
    - Click Tools

    ++ Windows XP:
    - Click General Settings
    - Scroll down to Real Time Protection Options
    - Uncheck Turn on Real Time Protection
    - After you uncheck this, click on the Save button
    - Close Windows Defender

    ++ Windows Vista:
    - Click Options
    - Under Administrator options, clear the Use Windows Defender check box, and then click Save.

    Enable Windows Defender, when all cleaning is done.
  11. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    combo fix log

    This seemed to run okay

    Attached Files:

  12. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    You didn't tell me....
  13. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Oh - sorry. Yes there are still multiples - three at the moment
  14. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Restart computer and check again.
  15. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Hi Broni,
    Looks good - no iexplore processes running at the moment. Thank you for your help. I appreciate it very much. Is there anything else I should do at this point?

  16. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Good news :)

    We still need to perform couple more steps to make sure, your computer is 100% clean.

    1. Please open Notepad
    • Click Start , then Run
    • Type notepad .exe in the Run Box.

    2. Now copy/paste the entire content of the codebox below into the Notepad window:


    3. Save the above as CFScript.txt

    4. Then drag the CFScript.txt into ComboFix.exe as depicted in the animation below. This will start ComboFix again.


    5. After reboot, (in case it asks to reboot), please post the following reports/logs into your next reply:
    • Combofix.txt
  17. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    combo fix log 2

    Here's the next combo fix log.

    Attached Files:

  18. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Good job :)

    Uninstall Combofix:
    Go Start > Run [Vista users, go Start>"Start search"]
    Type in:
    Combofix /Uninstall
    Note the space between the "Combofix" and the "/Uninstall"
    Click OK (Vista users - press Enter).
    Restart computer.


    Download OTL to your Desktop.

    * Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.
    * Under the Custom Scan box paste this in:

    drivers32 /all
    %systemroot%\*. /mp /s
    %systemroot%\system32\*.dll /lockedfiles
    %systemroot%\Tasks\*.job /lockedfiles
    %systemroot%\system32\user32.dll /md5
    %systemroot%\system32\ws2_32.dll /md5
    %systemroot%\system32\ws2help.dll /md5
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate\Auto Update\Results\Install|LastSuccessTime /rs

    * Click the Quick Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.
    • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows: OTL.txt and Extras.txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
    • Please copy (Edit->Select All, Edit->Copy) the contents of these files, one at a time, and post them back here.
  19. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16


    OTL as attachments - too long to paste

    Attached Files:

  20. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Is there any reason, your system restore is disabled?

    Update your Java version here:
    Uninstall all previous Java versions, through Add\Remove (Programs & Features in Vista/7).


    Run OTL
    • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following

      SRV - File not found [On_Demand | Stopped] -- C:\PROGRA~1\Symantec\LIVEUP~1\LUCOMS~1.EXE -- (LiveUpdate)
      SRV - File not found [Auto | Stopped] -- C:\DOCUME~1\Dan\LOCALS~1\Temp\011481~1.EXE -- (0114811278381064mcinstcleanup) McAfee Application Installer Cleanup (0114811278381064)
      DRV - File not found [Kernel | On_Demand | Stopped] -- C:\WINDOWS\System32\DRIVERS\UIUSYS.SYS -- (UIUSys)
      DRV - File not found [Kernel | On_Demand | Stopped] -- C:\DOCUME~1\Dan\LOCALS~1\Temp\catchme.sys -- (catchme)
      "EnableFirewall" =dword:00000001
      "2967:TCP" =-
      "2967:UDP" =-
    • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
    • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
    • You will get a log that shows the results of the fix. Please post it.
    • Open OTL again and click the Quick Scan button. Post the log it produces in your next reply.
  21. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    OTL output

    I have no idea why system restore would be disabled. Someone was trying to solve this problem the other day - perhaps he disabled it for some reason. He was planning on coming back but wasn't able to.

    Results of OTL Fix and Scan attached

    Attached Files:

  22. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    Very good :)

    Last step...

    1. Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
    Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
    Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
    TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.

    2. Go to Kaspersky website and perform an online antivirus scan.

    1. Disable your active antivirus program.
    2. Read through the requirements and privacy statement and click on Accept button.
    3. It will start downloading and installing the scanner and virus definitions. You will be prompted to install an application from Kaspersky. Click Run.
    4. When the downloads have finished, click on Settings.
    5. Make sure these boxes are checked (ticked). If they are not, please tick them and click on the Save button:

    • Spyware, Adware, Dialers, and other potentially dangerous programs
      [*] Archives
      [*] Mail databases
    6. Click on My Computer under Scan.
    7. Once the scan is complete, it will display the results. Click on View Scan Report.
    8. You will see a list of infected items there. Click on Save Report As....
    9. Save this report to a convenient place. Change the Files of type to Text file (.txt) before clicking on the Save button. Then post it here.
  23. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    I suspect the Kaspersky scan will run for hours so I will check it in the morning and post when it's done. Thank you, again, for your help.

    Do I need to do something to enable system restore when all this is complete?
  24. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,816   +343

    No problem, take your time.
    We'll re-enable system restore in next step. I'll tell you how.
  25. mmontore

    mmontore TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 16

    Kaspersky output

    I thought this was going to scan a lot more than it did. Is this what you expected?

    KASPERSKY ONLINE SCANNER 7.0: scan report
    Tuesday, July 6, 2010
    Operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2600)
    Kaspersky Online Scanner version:
    Last database update: Tuesday, July 06, 2010 02:13:37
    Records in database: 4243860

    Scan settings:
    scan using the following database: extended
    Scan archives: yes
    Scan e-mail databases: yes

    Scan area - My Computer:

    Scan statistics:
    Objects scanned: 47191
    Threats found: 0
    Infected objects found: 0
    Suspicious objects found: 0
    Scan duration: 01:40:40

    No threats found. Scanned area is clean.

    Selected area has been scanned.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...