TechSpot

My Computer Crashes when playing games

By AndrewWales1986
Feb 19, 2008
  1. Ok the computer i have is a:

    WINDOWS VISTA ULTIMATE (32 bit)
    INTEL CORE 2 QUAD Q6600 8MEG CACHE,
    ASUS P5N-E SLI NFORCE 650 BOARD,
    500GB 16MB CACHE SATA HDD,
    MASSIVE 4GB DDR2 MEMORY,

    NVIDIA 8500GT SLI 1024MB GRAPHICS CARD,

    and when ever i play a game (i mostly play UT3 or COD 4) after about 5 - 10 minutes of playing the whole system crashes.

    i have run MEMTEST (dos version) and it passed 5 tests in a row with no errors so i know its not my ram,

    could it be that my GC is over heating?

    other changes i have made to the system is only that i have added a Network card so i can link my xbox360elite up to the net with a shared con from my PC.

    if the respons i get concludes its my GC over heating whats the best way to keep it cool?
     
  2. Matthew

    Matthew TechSpot Staff Posts: 6,094   +86 Staff Member

    I'd suspect either poor heat dissipation or a PSU that is either not able to provide your system with the power it demands or is just flat out faulty.

    Check the temperatures on your components while under load and if they look fine try a different PSU.
     
  3. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,172   +37

    If you can attach your minidumps that will help. It could be a video card driver issue. Or as Zenosincks points out it can be a heat ssue because when vid cards go under a load like when playing games the heat generated can go up substantially.

    Also, what is the make and model of your PSU?
     
  4. Matthew

    Matthew TechSpot Staff Posts: 6,094   +86 Staff Member

    Not sure I'd suspect a driver malfunction just because you'd likely have an error message and the system would probably lock up rather than totally shut off. Still worth checking the minidumps though I suppose.

    Keep us updated :)...
     
  5. AndrewWales1986

    AndrewWales1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    ok last time it crashed it came up with this
     
  6. AndrewWales1986

    AndrewWales1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    grrr why do you need 3 posts any way its in next post
     
  7. AndrewWales1986

    AndrewWales1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter

  8. Matthew

    Matthew TechSpot Staff Posts: 6,094   +86 Staff Member

    Okay, well, scratch what I said earlier then.

    It's almost guaranteed to be a software issue. Those minidumps would be more useful than ever now if you can get them.

    I'd be willing to be it's a problem with NVidia's drivers on your system. If not directly than indirectly.

    Uninstall NVidia's Network Access Manager from your machine via Add/Remove Programs if it's installed and see if it helps anything.
     
  9. AndrewWales1986

    AndrewWales1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    ok ill try that now im just gunna install my new VISTA x64 seens as i got 4gig ram and ill try it
     
  10. AndrewWales1986

    AndrewWales1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    All i got is NVIDIA Drivers thats all nothing about network manager
     
  11. Matthew

    Matthew TechSpot Staff Posts: 6,094   +86 Staff Member

    Post. Your. Minidumps.
     
     
  12. AndrewWales1986

    AndrewWales1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    if by minidump (im not great with this stuff) you mean screen shot here it is[​IMG]

    this is a fresh install of Vista but im getting same error as before
     
  13. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 12,172   +37

    When conflicts occur that might that the potential to cause damage to your PC Windows automatically shuts down your system and displays a Blue Screen (Blue Screens of Death; BSOD) reporting blah, blah, blah, and then gives an error code.

    I don't know about Vista but XP has a MInidump Folder in the Windows Folder in Drive C. Within that Minidump Folder are minidump files that give us more detailed information.

    It is these files that we need you to attach in your next reply. Note the Managae Attachment button below when you are responding.
     
  14. AndrewWales1986

    AndrewWales1986 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    it didnt create one but i know the folder. last time it just crashed the computer no BSOD nothing just crashed and freezed up completely
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.