My gfx card hit 140 degree (Celsius that is...)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello there, firstly I apologize for my bad english it is not my native tongue.

Anyway I got a little(!) heating problem. Basicly, when I start oblivion(video game) and play for 10-15 minute my gfx card hits 140 degree(Celsius =S) and slowdowns itself. Problem started just 2 weeks ago, before that I were playing it without a single heating problem. Well I gotta say there is no way in hell a gfx card could hit 140 degree and still work, and no it didn't burn itself neither did it burn cables inside the computer. Problem eventually repeats itself, I'm a tech noob but I could say that either there is a problem in fan or there is a software problem.

So all I'm asking is that if there is a software problem how could I fix it? Or eventually is there a way to understand which kind of problem I got? Because gfx cards warranty went off just couple of months ago and most probably I'll buy a new card instead of paying money to repair it. Or I might consider buying a new fan for the geforce 6800, please share it if you people know a good fan.

P.S: I took a SS, even if there was no 3d application was running it was showing 75 degree o.O

Anyway already now thanks a lot for all helps =)

That picture shows your card at 70+ degrees, not 140. The threshold means that the temperature that shows there is where the card will basically blow up on you. Although 70C is pretty hot for any graphics card, my 8800 gtx doesnt even get that hot.

I would think that since the software came with your drivers, that temp. would be pretty accurate. You said that the temp shown is at idle, and that's way to hot as you know. Have you checked to see if the fan is running on the card, and have you blown any dust out of it. The heatsink can get so clogged with dust that it will completely block off any airflow.