My new pc (hopefully) what would you guys change?

Status
Not open for further replies.

resu

Ive been out of the component loop for some time now .. and my old desktop:
athlon 3200xp
1gb ram
180gb hdd
5200 fx 256mb

has done me fine so far but juts recently thd goog ol' 5200fx has given up the ghost :(
ive bought me a 7600gs 256 in replacement juts so my gf can use it etc while i use my lappy

eventually my old rig will become a dedicated media center machine so ill cram it all in a smaller better looking case and make it alot quieter (prolly water cooled)

if im honest with myself im itching to build a new rig!
as im an architect (in training) i need something that can handle 3ds max well .. with vray renderer etc
plus to be able to play gta 5 (the new one coming out) and oblivion .. and stalker
on good to max settings

anyway this is what ive gone for so far .. i prefere to use ebuyer.com as we have a business account with them and iff all goes well i should be able to get VAT off some things with them :D

Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Mid Tower Case
Asustek M2V AM2 VIAK8T890
Athlon 64 x2 5200
Corsair 2GB Kit
Maxtor 320gb (SATA)
8800gts 320mb PCI-E
XP media center edition

it all came to £460ish ex VAT

im amd thru and thru so any cpu will have to be AMD ... im a bit of a Nvidia fanboy aswell as i havent had much luck with ATi drivers and cards in the past.

as i dont know much about current products the mobo was a complete stab in the dark

MCE is a must as im not gonna make the leap to vista just yet :p plus i bought 22" widescreen HD monitor/tv taht should be arriving next week

anyway any comments and suggestions are welcomed
[i dont wanna spend silly money on this rig as i wanna buy a new car: cupra r 255 !! lol]

cheers
resu

if you're stubborn enough or to put it more politely, set in your ways :) to be AMD through and through then you're already on a losing streak matey. Intel whoops the bejesus out of AMD for processes like vray and 3dsmax.