My system is badly infected with malware - black monitor problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
(Hoping to contact howard_hopkinso)

I have an older system, a Thinkpad T41p notebook running Windows XP SP2 with 1.7GHz processor, 1Gb RAM and 40 GB HD.

I developed a problem with my monitor recently and have since discoved that my system has been overrun with spyware/malware/adware etc. after research and reading the topic 58138 thread on your site (sorry for lack of link--I am unable to post urls because I am a newbie to the site)

I had over 9000 ugly entries written to my Windows hosts file, 2 variants of New.net, and a variety of other malware, some of which could be removed and some of which could not.

My monitor goes black after the Windows logo splash screen and/or the Windows login screen. I can faintly detect the regular screens, but the monitor is so dark that I cannot read them.

I am able to control the laptop in question using LogMeIn remote access software, however I cannot port to an external monitor or view anything on the laptop's screen. Everything on the system runs fine for now using remote access, except for the monitor problems....

I have followed the instructions in the post entitled "Virus/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions" but am unable to complete them in their entirety. The problem lies in the safe reboot or safe reboot with networking capabilities.

Because I only have access to the system via remote control, I cannot reboot and perform any tasks in safe mode, because I cannot read the screen.

When I reboot in safe mode + networking, the machine hangs on the attempt to obtain network access, so I cannot get online to remotely control the machine.