Need Advice: PSU for Dell Dim 3000

Status
Not open for further replies.

Op2

Hello eveybody,

I have a Dell Dimension 3000, and everything have worked fine until now. I'm using a 250W PSU.
Description
Intel Celeron D 330 (2.66GHz) Processor
512MB PC3200 DDR Memory
80GB 7,200rpm Hard Drive
48x CD-RW Combo Optical Drive
Dell A215 Stereo Speakers
Intel Extreme 2 Integrated Graphics with 64MB Shared Memory
v.92 56Kbps Modem and 10/100 Ethernet
Six USB 2.0 Ports and Three PCI Slots
Dell 17" LCD Monitor
I just bought a new video card (a 3dfuzion fx5500 PCI card require minimum of 250w), and decide to buy a new more powerful power supply just in case.

I have no experience at all in power supply, so please give me some advices. Some of my questions are:
- How much watt should it be? (for a good future)
- What is a good PSU company for my computer?
- Is it the same size for every normal PSU, or only some will fit to my case?
- If I buy 2 sticks of 1gb ddr ram, are they gonna affect the PSU?

This is how my case should look like inside:
http://users.zoominternet.net/~garsh/Dell/dim3000-3.jpg

Thanks for reading and I appreciate any help,
D.

I would put something along the line of a 350-400w power supply of good make into that system. I put an antec 350w into my dell 2300(which has basically the same case). Good companies include: ocz, enermax, seasonic, fsp group, and many others. Most full size atx power supplies are the same size, but some units are longer than others, and in a cramped case a long power supply could be blocked by your cd drive(s).

Here're two power supplies that are great values for what you get.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104901
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104953

More memory takes slightly more power from your system, but not very much. Even a 250-300w decent unit should handle your current system, but a 350-400 gives you room for upgrades and won't stress the power supply as much.