Need basic info on setting up a Lexmark print server on XP Pro

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwazevedo

I have a SOHO with several computers running XP Pro. I recently inherited a Lexmark MarkNet Pro 1 (sans installation CD, unfortunately), and I'd like to hook up my printer through this print server directly to my router so that the printer is available to any computer that is on. When I plug everything in, I can print a test page that shows the TCP/IP address of the printer, so I assume that part is working. But when I go to add the printer, the computer can't "see" the print server. In the Printer Wizard, I've tried browsing for the print server/printer, and I've tried entering the URL. I've also tried creating a standard TCP/IP port. All to no avail. I'm not a networking expert, and I think there must be some small key point that I'm missing. If anyone could point me in the right direction, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,
Jerry

Go to Lexmark and get the drivers etc. first:
http://support.lexmark.com/cgi-perl...lexmark.com/cgi-perl/downloads.cgi&&req=:::::

When I installed my printserver (Netgear PS110), I had to first install the PS-driver on each PC. Then (re)install the printer drivers as a LOCAL machine, not-shared, and when it comes to selecting the printer-port, you select the network-port that has been installed by the PS-driver.

I assume that Lexmark won't be that different.

Network printer in Windows sense is not a network printer really.

When you install your network printer, install it as local. You have to create a port for it. I don't know whether you need to make a special Lexmark port or would a standard TCP/IP port do.