need DVI a vid card, have crappy mobo, help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Noob here, having trouble. Here's my situation:

current mobo with integrated S3 ProSavage DDR cannot handle DVI-D and can't handle 1440x900 resolution for my new LCD monitor.

I don't do any gaming, mostly movies, music, office programs for work, etc.

After doing many, many, many different strings of google searching for my mobo and vid cards, i haven't been able to find a video card that can meet all of the limitations of my system. I have stumbled across many issues due to the limitations of my mobo & power supply.

System:
Compaq 6430NX
AMD 2600+ 2.13 ghz
512mb pc2100
FIC AM37 mobo
200w power supply (ouch)
PCI & AGP (4x 1.5v) slots available
XP Service Pack 2

Monitor
Viewsonic VX1935wm 19" lcd monitor w/ DVI-d inputs
recommended resolution 1440x900

Here is what I need from a vid card, but can't find:

• AGP 4x/8x or PCI slot
  • DVI-D output
  • NON-ati chipset (infamous conflicts with my mobo)
  • no need for a new power supply (current 200w)
  • 1440x900 resolution

I can find cards that have 3-4 of the things, but can't seem to find the "perfect card" that gives meets all of the criteria.

Any recs? Thanks in advance!

Try ATI AGP cards

I have a 9600 XT with a DVI-D connection.
These aren't expensive cards.
Don't forget you also need a DVI-D cable and an LCD monitor WITH A DVI-D option.
Cable Might be sold seperatly.
You mobo should not be a factor if it has an AGP slot for a video card.
Whats crappy about it ? :D

I had stumbled across the MSI FX 5200 numerous times since yesterday, and almost bought it through newegg on two occasions (last night, then this morning before i posted). doesn't come pre-loaded with the resolution i was looking for, however through some further sleuthing i've found that you can change settings to make it available.

Just ordered it through newegg, thanks for the help!