Need help deciding emachines mobo or new build

Status
Not open for further replies.
I need some help! I'm a photographer, not a computer expert, but I've replaced enough stuff on my computer that I feel pretty confident replacing parts.

I have had an emachines t2385 for about 5 years now, and I've never had any trouble with it, except for it being extremely slow. I want to ask you experts if I should try to replace the motherboard (what would I need to do to make it run faster?) Or, should I try to build a new computer from scratch? My funds are tight right now, so I'm trying to find a fix to get the best bang for my buck.

It has an intel celeron 2.3 GH processor with an intel 845g chipset.

Can anyone suggest a motherboard that would work with this computer? What would you do?
Thanks,
Amber

Hello, awal1, and welcome to Techspot :wave:

Please take a look at the following threads to make your experience here as enjoyable as possible :)

Message for all newcomers

SNGX1275's Guide to making a good post/thread

The Techspot FAQ

If you could take a minute to fill in some of your profile information that would be helpful to all members of the forum :)
Knowing someone's location in the world can be extremely helpful, even if you just put a country.

Also remember to post any problems or questions that you have in the appropriate forums

With regards to your question, if you want to make it faster then you need a better processor and at least 1gb of ram

If you want to keep that processor then i will need to know what socket it is - celerons have been around for years so it could be a variety of sockets

It may be a socket 478 but i'd need to know for certain