Need help on building a new rig

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexgoh

Hey all, i would like to build a new gaming computer as my current one is pretty sucky :p I would like some expert advice from these forums so please do enlighten me. What i have in mind now is the E6850 processor. I've read quite abit about it and i heard it really is worth the price. My budget's around 2.5k SGD. That's about 1.6 - 1.7 k USD. If possible, please do justify why you would recommend me the mobo / gfx as I really am very confused about what to pick. There's just too many and I really have no clear idea what is best. So please do help me. Thanks for the time for reading and helping. Oh and I'm not too concerned about OCing at the moment as I've never done that before. Haha. Thanks alot of the help. Appreciate it.

I have just gotten the ASUS P5N-E SLI mobo with a Q 6600 Core 2 Quadcore. I can recommend the mobo for sure. It's very stable, has all the overclocking you would want, and supports the E6850. I am going to pick up an E6850 too. The E6750 is a very good deal also. $100 less than the 6850. I can also recommend the EVGA 8800 GTS 320mb GPU. It has good performance and is also strong, stable, and cool. Good Luck.

Find out what's the most intensive software you want to run graphics wise and pick a card that can handle it at an acceptable frame rate. Go to tomshardware.com and read their graphics cards reviews.

For the gfx, I'm currently considering on getting an EVGA Nvidia 8800 GTS 320mb. Heard it runs cool and stable. Im much more concerned on the motherboard though. I'm really lost as there's so many models.

alexgoh said:
For the gfx, I'm currently considering on getting an EVGA Nvidia 8800 GTS 320mb. Heard it runs cool and stable. Im much more concerned on the motherboard though. I'm really lost as there's so many models.
Just so you know the 8800GTS 320 may not be the only choice:

http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=43412&page=22

Before: